OSSTF District 11 Thames Valley Teacher and Occasional Teacher Bargaining Unit Does Not Ratify Agreement

LONDON, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 5, 2012) - The Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) District 11, Thames Valley Teacher and Occasional Teacher Bargaining Unit held a ratification vote today. The Bargaining Unit did not ratify the agreement.

The selective withdrawal of administrative duties that was scheduled to begin November 19 will now commence on December 6, 2012. Sanctions will be increased on Monday, December 10.

Colleen Canon, the Thames Valley District President, stated, "Complications caused by Bill 115 have made it extremely difficult to negotiate an acceptable collective agreement. In addition, the needless passage of Bill 115 has resulted in unnecessary labour unrest."

Ken Coran, President of the OSSTF and the Chair of Negotiations added, "The Thames Valley Director of Education and senior school board officials, along with OSSTF representatives, worked diligently to reach an acceptable deal. However, the requirements of Bill 115 essentially put a straitjacket on the process and minimized any chance of success."

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Contact Information:

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
Lori Foote
Associate General Secretary
Cell: 647.393.9149