SOURCE: Healthcare Financial Management Association

Healthcare Financial Management Association

May 12, 2016 09:00 ET

13 Winners Receive the 2016 MAP Award for High Performance in Revenue Cycle

WESTCHESTER, IL--(Marketwired - May 12, 2016) - The Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) announced the 2016 winners of the MAP Award for High Performance in Revenue Cycle, including five hospital systems, five individual hospitals, and three physician practices.

HFMA's MAP Award for High Performance in Revenue Cycle recognizes providers that have excelled in meeting industry standard revenue cycle benchmarks (MAP Keys), implemented the patient-centered recommendations and best practices embodied in HFMA's Healthcare Dollars & Sense™ initiatives, and achieved outstanding patient satisfaction. Award recipients are acknowledged as industry leaders and share proven strategies with their colleagues. Nearly 170 facilities began the application process for this year's award.

HFMA President and CEO Joseph J. Fifer, FHFMA, CPA, said, "Congratulations to all of our MAP Award winners. Building a strong revenue cycle should go hand in hand with creating a better financial experience for patients, and these organizations demonstrate how to achieve that."

Andrew von Eschenbach, Vice President of Revenue Cycle, Christus Trinity Mother Frances Hospitals and Clinics in Tyler, TX remarked, "Applying for the MAP Award for High Performance reaffirmed and validated that we are doing the right things in revenue cycle-especially around key performance metrics, patient engagement, and patient satisfaction. As an organization, it prompted us to take a critical look at 'what's next' while reminding us all that when we focus on executing our revenue cycle strategies, great things can happen."

Winners of the 2016 MAP Award for High Performance include the following organizations:

  • Winning hospital systems:
    • AtlantiCare Health System; Atlantic City, N.J.
    • Geisinger Health System; Danville, Pa.
    • Presbyterian Healthcare Services; Albuquerque, N.M.
    • St. Elizabeth Healthcare; Edgewood, Ky.
    • Trinity Mother Frances Hospitals and Clinics; Tyler, TX
  • Winning individual hospitals:
    • Lakeland Hospitals Niles and St. Joseph; St. Joseph, Mich.
    • The Lowell General Hospital; Lowell, Mass.
    • Regions Hospital; St. Paul, Minn.
    • Shelby Baptist Medical Center; Alabaster, Ala.
    • St. Luke's Hospital; Chesterfield, Mo.
  • Winning physician practices:
    • ENT and Allergy Associates, LLP; Tarrytown, N.Y.
    • Privia Medical Group; Arlington, Va.
    • Warren Clinic; Tulsa, Okla.

The award will be formally presented on June 26 at HFMA's 2016 National Institute in Las Vegas.

About HFMA

With more than 40,000 members, the Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) is the nation's premier membership organization for healthcare finance leaders. HFMA builds and supports coalitions with other healthcare associations and industry groups to achieve consensus on solutions for the challenges the U.S. healthcare system faces today. Working with a broad cross-section of stakeholders, HFMA identifies gaps throughout the healthcare delivery system and bridges them through the establishment and sharing of knowledge and best practices. We help healthcare stakeholders achieve optimal results by creating and providing education, analysis, and practical tools and solutions. Our mission is to lead the financial management of health care. 

Contact Information

  • Karen Thomas
    Healthcare Financial Management Association
    (708) 492-3377