SOURCE: Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

October 29, 2007 15:40 ET

2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Semifinalist List

FORT WORTH, TX--(Marketwire - October 29, 2007) - The polls have closed, the votes have been tallied and the quarterbacks have been selected. The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) today proudly announced its 2007 Semifinalist List, which features top quarterback talent from across the country.

Members of the 2007 O'Brien National Quarterback Award Semifinalist List:

Todd Boeckman, Ohio State, JR
Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, FR
Colt Brennan, Hawai'i, SR
Brian Brohm, Louisville, SR
Shaun Carney, Air Force, SR
Rudy Carpenter, Arizona State, JR
Chase Daniel, Missouri, JR
Dennis Dixon, Oregon, SR
Graham Harrell, Texas Tech, JR
Corey Leonard, Arkansas State, SO
Todd Reesing, Kansas, SO
Matt Ryan, Boston College, SR
Tim Tebow, Florida, SO
Pat White, West Virginia, JR
Andre' Woodson, Kentucky, SR

When voting, the Selection Committee for The O'Brien is asked to evaluate each candidate on quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. The combination of votes from the Selection Committee and fan vote will determine the Finalists as well as the Winner this season, with 5% of the total vote coming from dedicated fans.

"The Semifinalist List confirms that being a player of strong character and leadership combined with talent and academics can translate into more than just wins on the field," said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. "The O'Brien recognizes the diligence and commitment of these young men to their teams, their schools and the true spirit of the game."

This talented group of 15 quarterbacks will continue to jockey for position until the balloting for the three Finalists closes at noon Central Time on Sunday, Nov. 18. All Finalists will be in attendance in Orlando, Fla., where The O'Brien Winner will be announced on "The Home Depot College Football Awards Show" on ESPN Dec. 6.

Fans are able to vote for Semifinalist candidates once daily on The O'Brien's Web site, The voting will continue throughout the Semifinalist and Finalist rounds until The O'Brien winner is announced, with 5% of the final tally coming directly from the Fan Vote.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien helps to instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation provides scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

Contact Information