SOURCE: Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

August 21, 2007 11:58 ET

2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List

FORT WORTH, TX--(Marketwire - August 21, 2007) - The 2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Watch List features 35 of college football's most talked about quarterbacks. The O'Brien is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field.

Erik Ainge       Tennessee       SR   Brian Johnson     Utah             JR
John David Booty USC             SR   Kinsmon Lancaster UL-Monroe        JR
Colt Brennan     Hawai'i'        SR   Dan LeFevour      Central Michigan SO
Brian Brohm      Louisville      SR   Corey Leonard     Arkansas St.     SO
Shaun Carney     Air Force       SR   Nate Longshore    California       JR
Rudy Carpenter   Arizona State   JR   Colt McCoy        Texas            SO
Chase Clement    Rice            JR   Anthony Morelli   Penn State       SR
Chase Daniel     Missouri        JR   Curtis Painter    Purdue           JR
Nate Davis       Ball State      SO   Matt Ryan         Boston College   SR
Dennis Dixon     Oregon          SR   Jameel Sewell     Virginia         SO
Julian Edelman   Kent State      JR   Riley Skinner     Wake Forest      SO
Caleb Hanie      Colorado State  SR   Paul Smith        Tulsa            SR
Martin Hankins   Memphis         SR   Matthew Stafford  Georgia          SO
Graham Harrell   Texas Tech      JR   Karsten Sween     Wyoming          SO
Omar Haugabook   Troy            SR   Pat White         West Virginia    JR
Chad Henne       Michigan        SR   Justin Willis     SMU              SO
Rocky Hinds      UNLV            JR   Andre' Woodson    Kentucky         SR
Chase Holbrook   New Mexico St.  JR

The Watch List is based on All-America teams and Honorable Mentions published in at least six different preseason college football magazines. A candidate must be listed as an All-America quarterback or as a 1st or 2nd team All-American within his conference in at least one publication, or as Honorable Mention in at least three publications.

The O'Brien requires Selection Committee members to consider the character and leadership qualities of each candidate, in addition to athletic prowess when voting.

"Along with athletic ability, The O'Brien winner must exhibit the same character and moral fiber that Davey O'Brien displayed throughout his life," Davey O'Brien Foundation executive director, Danielle Moorman said. "We challenge Watch List candidates to live up to this fundamental aspect of our award while leading their teams into competition."

The winner will be announced on "The Home Depot College Football Awards Show" on ESPN Dec. 6, 2007. The recipient will be honored Feb. 18, 2008, at the annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien helps to instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation provides scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

Contact Information