SOURCE: Blackfoot Telecommunications Group

Blackfoot Telecommunications Group

May 18, 2010 09:00 ET

2010 Blackfoot Scholarship Winners Announced

MISSOULA, MT--(Marketwire - May 18, 2010) -  The Blackfoot Telephone Cooperative (Blackfoot) Board of Trustees today announced the winners of the 2010 Blackfoot Scholarship Fund totaling $16,000. Established in 1996, the scholarship fund was created to support and encourage post-secondary education for member-owners residing in Blackfoot's service territories. The fund awards $500 individual scholarships to outstanding High School students continuing their education in the Fall of 2010.

"It is more important than ever to help our youth get the education and training they need to be productive Montanans. We are thrilled to contribute $16,000 in scholarship assistance, as well as $16,000 in technology equipment and $60,000 in education technology training to our Blackfoot member-owner schools this year," said Joan Mandeville, CEO of Blackfoot.

For the 2010-2011 academic year, Blackfoot received many applications from students living in 15 western Montana communities within their service areas. Selection criteria include: academic performance, letters of recommendation, and a personal letter of application listing activities, goals and achievements. After review, the Board of Trustees selected 32 finalists.

Blackfoot is pleased to award thirty-two $500 scholarships to the following students:

  • Alberton: Andrew Clark
  • Arlee: April Burnett, Jennifer Keller
  • Charlo: Jessica Anderson, Kristi Fullerton
  • Drummond: Jordan Collins, Brianna Jesse
  • Elliston: Shelby Johnson
  • Helmville: Katie Hillerman, Jordan Mannix, Neil Mannix
  • Noxon: Riley Dettwiler, Shelby Swant
  • Philipsburg: Elly Hogue, Steffani Linn
  • Plains: Bryce Benson, Charles French
  • Potomac: Robert Hall
  • St. Ignatius: Jasmine Gilleard, Rachel Jensen, Christopher McCollum
  • St. Regis: Tyler Chessman, Heather Pruitt
  • Seeley Lake: Ashley Holmes, Jessica Lester, Anna Wood
  • Superior: Tamara Rennick, David Repke
  • Thompson Falls: Velita Benton, Karli Cavill, Hannah Peters, Ethan Snell

About Blackfoot Telecommunications Group
Named after the Blackfoot River running through much of the territory it serves, the Blackfoot (Blackfoot) Telecommunications Group was originally established in 1954 as Blackfoot Telephone Cooperative. Blackfoot offers state-of-the-art telecommunications, Internet and data solutions to customers in Missoula and throughout Montana and Idaho. Headquartered in Missoula, Montana, Blackfoot employs more than 150 Montanans. Blackfoot can be reached at 406-541-5000 or through its web site at Connect Globally. Partner Locally. 

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Kate Olney

    Blackfoot Telecommunications Group
    Phone: (406) 541-5020
    Fax: (406) 532-5018