National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

November 17, 2009 08:36 ET

2010 National Aboriginal Achievement Award recipients to be acknowle

3:00pm – 5:00pm: Speaker’s Reception (House of Commons - 216 N. ) Media welcome

Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Assignment Editor, City Editor, Lifestyle Editor, News Editor TORONTO, ONTARIO, NEWS RELEASE--(Marketwire - Nov. 17, 2009) - 2010 National Aboriginal Achievement Award recipients to be acknowledged in the House of Commons

TORONTO -- November 17, 2009:

3:00pm - 5:00pm: Speaker's Reception (House of Commons - 216 N. ) Media welcome

The House of Commons will take time to celebrate the successes of 14 remarkable Aboriginal Canadians selected for the 17th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, taking place on March 26, 2010.

After being welcomed into the gallery, and acknowledged by all members of the House of Commons, recipients will also attend a reception afterwards, hosted by Speaker of the House Peter Milliken.

With hosts Tinsel Korey (Twilight, The Guard) and Raoul Trujillo (True Blood, Apocalypto) the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards continue the mission of celebrating aboriginal Canadians who have made a profound positive impact in their communities, across Canada, and worldwide.

Featuring performers including international music icon Buffy Sainte-Marie, Crystal Shawanda, Elisapie Isaac, Lorne Cardinal, Michael Greyeyes and Leemai Lafontaine, the 17th annual NAAA will recognize the achievements of the following individuals:

William Commanda, OC - Lifetime Achievement Award
Skawenniio Barnes - Special Youth Award
Kananginak Pootoogook - Arts
Ellen Melcosky - Business & Commerce
Tom Crane Bear - Culture, Heritage & Spirituality
Dr. Raoul McKay - Education
Danny Beaton - Environment & Natural Resources
Madeleine Keteskwew Dion Stout, BN, MA, Ph.D (Hon.) - Health
Donald E. Worme, QC, IPC - Law & Justice
Kenneth Atsenhaienton Deer - Media & Communications
Hon. Eric William Robinson - Politics
Edith Cloutier - Public Service
Monica Pinette - Sports
Doug Henry - Technology & Trades

The National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation proudly announces Global Television and the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network as the returning exclusive broadcast partners of the 17th annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards.

"Every year the jury selects an extraordinary group of recipients who reveal such outstanding talent and dedicated service." said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation.
Held in Regina, Saskatchewan, the NAAA 2010 focuses on the theme of Potential and, the ability within us all to achieve greatness, despite obstacles
The National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (NAAF) is a nationally registered non-profit organization dedicated to raising funds to deliver programs that provide the tools necessary for Aboriginal peoples, especially youth to achieve their potential.
Since 1985 the Foundation through its Education Program has awarded more than $32-million in scholarships and bursaries to more than 8,400 First Nations, Inuit and Métis students nationwide.
NAAA Partners for 2009/2010

Lead Partners
Government of Canada
Government of Saskatchewan
Canwest - Aboriginal Peoples Television Network - Suncor Energy Foundation - Air Canada - Tribal Councils Investment Group of Manitoba Ltd. - Nexen Inc.
BP Canada Energy Company - Fort McKay Group of Companies - Casino Rama - Rio Tinto - SaskTel - Cameco Corporation - Government of Nunavut - Government of the Northwest Territories
City of Regina - Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life - Radisson Plaza Hotel Saskatchewan


Available for Interviews:

Jamie Monastyrski, Director of Communications

For further information, visit:
/For further information: Jamie Monastyrski
Director of Communications & Media
National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
cell: 416-903-4331
416-926-0775 ext: 238

Contact Information

  • Jamie Monastyrski, Director of Communications, National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
    Primary Phone: 416-903-4331