SOURCE: National Association of Realtors

National Association of Realtors

November 11, 2013 15:49 ET

2014 NAR Officers Installed

SAN FRANSICO, CA--(Marketwired - Nov 11, 2013) - Steve Brown, a Realtor® in Dayton, Ohio, was installed today as 2014 president of the National Association of Realtors® at the association's Board of Directors meeting during the 2013 Realtors® Conference and Expo.

Brown has been in the business for more than 30 years, and is co-owner of Irongate, Inc. Realtors®. He has held NAR leadership positions since 2005. In 2013, Brown was NAR president-elect and he was NAR first vice president in 2012. Brown served as NAR vice president of committees in 2009 and was the public policy national liaison in 2008. He has also been a liaison for several other NAR committees; in 2007 he chaired the Legislative Forum; and in 2005, he was NAR's regional vice president for Region VI, serving Ohio and Michigan. Brown previously served as president of the Ohio Association of Realtors® in 2002 and as President of the Dayton Area Board of Realtors® in 1996.

Chris Polychron, a Realtor® from Hot Springs, Ark., is the 2014 president-elect. A Realtor® for 25 years, he is an executive broker with 1st Choice Realty in Hot Springs. Polychron has served on NAR's Board of Directors since 2002, and was 2005 regional vice president for Region IX, serving Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma. He has served on numerous national committees, was the first Member Mobilization chair in 2008 and was a liaison to State and Political Issues in 2009. Polychron was president of the Arkansas Realtors® Association in 2003 and was Arkansas' Realtor® of the Year in 1996.

Thomas Salomone, a Realtor® from Coral Springs, Fla., is the 2014 NAR first vice president. He is a second-generation Realtor® and broker/owner of Real Estate II. Salomone has been a Realtor® for 38 years, and serves as a member of NAR's Executive Committee and on the newly appointed Corporate Investor Council. He has served on several national committees, was director of NAR's Realtor® Party Activities in 2012, and was 2007 regional vice president for Region V. Salomone was president of the Florida Realtors® in 2003 and was Florida's Realtor® of the Year in 2005.

Michael McGrew, a Realtor® from Lawrence, Kan., is the 2014 NAR treasurer. A Realtor® for nearly 30 years, he is the CEO/Chairman of McGrew Real Estate. McGrew was 2013 vice-chair of the Finance Committee and has served on NAR's Board of Directors for nine years. He was president of the Kansas Association of Realtors® in 1998.

Beth Peerce is 2014 NAR vice president. Peerce is the broker/owner of Prime Time Properties in Century City, Calif. She has served on NAR's Board of Directors since 2000 and the Executive Committee since 2009. In 2013, Peerce served as liaison to NAR's Second Century Ventures and Special Projects, and she has chaired numerous NAR committees and subcommittees. 

JoAnne Poole is also 2014 NAR vice president. She is the branch office manager for Prudential Homesale YWGC Realty in Baltimore, Md., and has served as a liaison to NAR's Leadership Team on a number of committee issues. Poole was 2013 liaison to the Social Media Advisory Board and the Young Professionals Network Advisory Board, and was president of the Maryland Association of Realtors® in 2005.

NAR's 2014 regional vice presidents are:
D. Gary Rogers, Waltham, Mass., Region I (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont); William Hanley, Westfield, N.J., Region II (New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania); John Dickinson, Roanoke, Va., Region III (Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia); Michael Gaughan, Hendersonville, Tenn., Region IV (Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee); B.J. Harris, St John, U.S. Virgin Islands, Region V (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands); Jonathan Hall, St. Mary's, Ohio, Region VI (Michigan and Ohio); John Kmiecik, Chicago, Ill., Region VII (Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin); Henry Kammandel, Jr., Omaha, Neb., Region VIII (Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota); Elizabeth Mendenhall, Columbia, Mo., Region IX (Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma); David McKey, Baton Rouge, La., Region X (Louisiana and Texas); Karen Valentine-Pond, Laramie, Wyo., Region XI (Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming); Rick Harris, Ashland, Ore., Region XII (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington); and Jim Liptak, Paso Robles, Calif., Region XIII (California, Hawaii and Guam).

The National Association of Realtors®, "The Voice for Real Estate," is America's largest trade association, representing 1 million members involved in all aspects of the residential and commercial real estate industries.

Information about NAR is available at News releases are posted in the website's "News, Blogs and Videos" tab.

Contact Information

  • For further information contact:
    Yolanda Byrd
    Email Contact