SOURCE: World Skateboarding Grand Prix

World Skateboarding Grand Prix

November 08, 2014 15:24 ET

2014 Skateboarding World Championships to Air on CBS Sports Network Sunday, Nov. 9

Huston vs. Guammaz, Hoeffler vs Fynn, Alana Smith Backflip Over the Gap: Experience All the Edge-of-Your-Seat Action

SACRAMENTO, CA--(Marketwired - November 08, 2014) - World Skateboarding Grand Prix (WSGP) -- the leading international skateboarding events management company -- today announced that the Skateboarding World Championships will air on CBS Sports Network in 2014 and 2015.

The 2014 Skateboarding World Championships, which were held at the Kimberley Diamond Cup in South Africa, featured the best skateboarders from 37 countries competing for the industry's largest prize purse of more than $500,000. CBS Sports Network will air one-hour programs on the Street and Vert World Championships on Sunday, Nov. 9 at 1:00 and 2:00 PM, ET. The programs will re-air in primetime on the West Coast.

"We are proud to bring the Skateboarding World Championships to CBS Sports Network," said Tim McFerran, World Skateboarding Grand Prix CEO. "With the 2014 Skateboarding World Championships featuring the industry's largest prize purse, an unprecedented 37 countries, and more than 200 of the best skateboarders from around the world, we look forward to bringing the exciting, fast-paced action to a national television audience." 

The 2014 Skateboarding World Championships will be now available in more than 120 countries, on CBS Sports Network in the United States and internationally via SuperSport.

TV schedule (check your local listings):

Sunday, November 9th

  • 1:00 p.m. EST/10:00 a.m PST -- VERT WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS
  • 2:00 p.m. EST/11:00 a.m. PST -- STREET WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS
  • 11:00 p.m. EST/8:00 p.m. PST -- VERT WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS
  • 12:00 a.m. EST/9:00 p.m. PST -- STREET WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

CBS Sports Network is available across the country through local cable, video and telco providers and via satellite on DirecTV Channel 221 and Dish Network Channel 158. For more information, including a full programming schedule and how to get CBS Sports Network, go to www.cbssportsnetwork.com.

About the Skateboarding World Championships

The Skateboarding World Championships are run by World Skateboarding Grand Prix and feature the best skateboarders from around the globe competing for the largest prize purse in the industry: $500,000. In 2014, 37 countries competed in the world championships which were held at the Kimberley Diamond Cup and presented by Kumba Iron Ore. Located 300 miles southwest of Johannesburg in the Northern Cape Province, Kimberley was the location of South Africa's first diamond mine, thus its nickname, "The Diamond City." For the latest news and information, visit www.kimberleydiamondcup.com or follow KDC on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

About World Skateboarding Grand Prix (WSGP)

World Skateboarding Grand Prix is the leading international skateboarding events management company based in Sacramento, California. WSGP hosts world-class skateboarding events globally with a commitment to help stimulate local economies through tourism and support youth development, especially those in underserved or impoverished communities, through skate clinics, demos, pro tours and more. WSGP runs the annual Skateboarding World Championships, the Rider Cup Team Championships and in 2015 expands with two new contests: the first ever U.S. Skateboarding Championships (Summer 2015) and the Turkish Skateboarding Championships (May 2015). For the latest news and information on World Skateboarding Grand Prix events, visit www.WorldSkateboarding.com.

The following files are available for download:

Contact Information