BC Achievement Foundation

BC Achievement Foundation

September 15, 2015 19:00 ET

2015 BC Aboriginal Business Awards Announced

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Sept. 15, 2015) - The seventh annual BC Aboriginal Business award recipients were announced today by Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation, the awards' presenting organization.

The honourees will be celebrated at a gala dinner ceremony on October 14, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver where John Rustad, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, will present the awards.

"Aboriginal entrepreneurship is key to British Columbia's growth and prosperity," said Premier Christy Clark. "BC's Aboriginal entrepreneurs continue to create opportunities throughout the province, and the 7th annual Aboriginal Business Awards Gala is a great opportunity to celebrate their success."

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards were launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence in six categories. A total of 15 Aboriginal businesses, entrepreneurs, joint ventures and community-owned enterprises will be recognized.

"The 2015 awardees represent entrepreneurial excellence in diverse and unique industries within British Columbia including tourism, construction, health care, forestry, fisheries, communications and technology," added Keith Mitchell.

Members of the jury panel include John Harper, Judith Sayers and Ruth Williams.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards are presented by the BC Achievement Foundation in partnership with the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, and generously supported by New Relationship Trust, BC Hydro, Teck, CN, Encana, Spectra Energy and MNPllp.

The BC Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed in 2003 by the Province of British Columbia to celebrate community services, arts, humanities and enterprise.

2015 BC Aboriginal Business Award Recipients

  • Young Entrepreneur of the Year:
    Recipient: Patrick Shannon, EVIL Patrick by Design, Skidegate

  • Business of the Year - one-to-two person enterprise:
    Recipient: T. Fraser Chiropractic Inc., Kamloops
    Outstanding Achievement: DJ O Show, West Vancouver

  • Business of the Year - three-to-10 person enterprise:
    Recipient: RNN Sales and Rentals, Dawson Creek
    Outstanding Achievement: Bavarian Home Hardware Ltd, Kimberley
    Outstanding Achievement: Skyride Bike and Board Inc., Vernon
    Outstanding Achievement: Spirit Works Ltd., North Vancouver

  • Business of the Year - 10 or more person enterprise:
    Recipient: K & L Contracting, Rosedale
    Outstanding Achievement: Wee Care Early Childhood Centre Inc., Courtenay

  • Community-Owned Business of the Year:
    Recipient: Tahltan Nation Development Corporation, Dease Lake
    Outstanding Achievement: Inlailawatash Natural Resource Services, North Vancouver
    Outstanding Achievement: Lakeshore Resort and Campground, Windermere

  • Joint Venture Business of the Year:
    Recipient: Quatern Limited Partnership, Coal Harbour
    Outstanding Achievement: Lower Nicola Indian Band and LNB Construction Inc., Merritt
    Outstanding Achievement: River Fresh Wild Seafood, Kamloops

Detailed information about the awards and a list of past winners is posted on the foundation's website at www.bcachievement.com/aboriginalbusiness

Contact Information

  • BC Achievement Foundation
    Cathryn Wilson
    Executive Director