SOURCE: Tang Prize Foundation

June 18, 2016 22:15 ET

2016 Tang Prize in Rule of Law to Be Announced June 21

TAIPEI, TAIWAN--(Marketwired - Jun 18, 2016) - The last of four days of prize announcements, the Tang Prize in the Rule of Law will soon be announced live from Taiwan this June 21. An online stream of the announcement will be available on the prize website ( and YouTube, starting at 10:00 a.m. Taiwan time (GMT+8).

The Tang Prize in the Rule of Law recognizes individuals or institutions who have made significant contributions to the rule of law, reflected not only in the achievement of the candidate in terms of the advancement of legal theory or practice, but also in the realization of the rule of law in contemporary societies through the influences or inspiration of the work of the candidate. As many as three recipients in the category will receive a cash prize of up to US$1.24 million. In addition to the cash prize, a grant of approx. US$311,000 is awarded per category.

Albie Sachs, a former justice on the Constitutional Court of South Africa, was awarded the inaugural 2014 Rule of Law prize for his many contributions to human rights and justice, especially for his efforts in the realization of the rule of law in a free and democratic South Africa.

The Tang Prize is an international award founded in 2012 by Samuel Yin, who was inspired in part by the Nobel Prize. It was established in light of problems categorically different and more global from those faced just a century ago: climate change, new and dangerous diseases, clashes of cultures and mindsets. The prize also stresses the importance of education in driving social progress, which is one of its core values.

This year is the second awarding of the international prize, which celebrated its inaugural year in 2014. According to the prize foundation's CEO Jenn-Chuan Chern, 20% to 70% more nominations were received this year as compared to 2014, indicating broader recognition and participation from the international community. It also suggests a positive response to the inaugural 2014 prize winners.

Beginning with Sustainable Development on June 18, the newest round of awardees will be announced live streaming on June 18-21, 2016, and will receive the medal, diploma, and cash prize at the award ceremony on September 25 in Taipei.

About Tang Prize
Dr. Samuel Yin, chairman of Ruentex Group, founded the Tang Prize in December of 2012 as an extension of the supreme value his family placed on education. Harkening back to the golden age of the Tang Dynasty in Chinese history, the Tang Prize seeks to be an inspiring force for people working in all corners of the world. For more information on the Tang Prize and its laureates, please visit

Contact Information

  • Contact Person/Email
    Jocelyn Chen / Blake Brownrigg
    E-mail: Email Contact