SOURCE: Tang Prize Foundation

June 17, 2016 21:16 ET

2016 Tang Prize in Sinology to Be Announced June 20

TAIPEI, TAIWAN--(Marketwired - Jun 17, 2016) - The announcement of the 2016 Tang Prize in Sinology will commence this June 20. A live stream of the announcement will be available on the prize website ( and YouTube, starting at 10:00 a.m. Taiwan time (GMT+8).

This year is the second awarding of the international prize, which celebrated its inaugural year in 2014. According to the prize foundation's CEO Jenn-Chuan Chern, 20% to 70% more nominations were received this year as compared to 2014, indicating broader recognition and participation from the international community. It also suggests a positive response to the inaugural 2014 prize winners.

The prize in Sinology recognizes the study of Chinese culture in its broadest sense, awarding research on China and its related fields, such as Chinese thought, history, philology, linguistics, archaeology, philosophy, religion, traditional canons, literature, and art (excluding literary and art works). The prize showcases Chinese culture and its contributions to the development of human civilization. As many as three recipients in the category will receive a cash prize of up to US$1.24 million. In addition to the cash prize, a grant of approx. US$311,000 is awarded per category.

In 2014, Yu Ying-Shih was awarded the inaugural prize in Sinology for his mastery and insight into Chinese intellectual, political, and cultural history, and especially that of public intellectuals in China. Yu is commonly hailed as the greatest Chinese intellectual historian of his generation and as a scholar who has researched and written extensively on almost every period of Chinese history, even the current day.

The Tang Prize is an international award founded in 2012 by Samuel Yin, who was inspired in part by the Nobel Prize. It was established in light of problems categorically different and more global from those faced just a century ago: climate change, new and dangerous diseases, clashes of cultures and mindsets. The prize also stresses the importance of education in driving social progress, which is one of its core values.

Beginning with Sustainable Development on June 18, the newest round of awardees will be announced live streaming on June 18-21, 2016, and will receive the medal, diploma, and cash prize at the award ceremony on September 25 in Taipei.

About Tang Prize
Dr. Samuel Yin, chairman of Ruentex Group, founded the Tang Prize in December of 2012 as an extension of the supreme value his family placed on education. Harkening back to the golden age of the Tang Dynasty in Chinese history, the Tang Prize seeks to be an inspiring force for people working in all corners of the world. For more information on the Tang Prize and its laureates, please visit

Contact Information

  • Contact Person/Email
    Jocelyn Chen / Blake Brownrigg
    E-mail: Email Contact