SOURCE: Young Women in Energy

Young Women in Energy

November 21, 2016 09:00 ET

2016 Young Women in Energy Award Winners Announced

YWE recognizes women changing the face of energy through third annual awards program

CALGARY, AB--(Marketwired - November 21, 2016) - Young Women in Energy (YWE) is thrilled to announce the 2016 winners of the YWE Awards program. Ten (10) incredible women have been chosen from Alberta's energy industry by an esteemed selection committee of senior industry leaders. The award winners were selected based on their leadership, innovation, and a demonstrated initiative to change the face of energy.

"More than ever, this year's award winners showcase female leaders in diverse operational and technical roles who are leading us through current industry challenges," says Katie Smith, Executive Director, Young Women in Energy.

The 2016 YWE award winners are as follows:

  • Beth Pollock, Assistant Treasurer, Gibson Energy
  • Christa Tucker, Category Manager, Supply Chain Management, Husky Energy
  • Christine Daly, Senior Advisor, Reclamation Technology Development, Suncor Energy
  • Elizabeth Logan, P.Eng., Manager, Climate Change and Sustainability Services, Ernst & Young LLP
  • Jennifer Bray, Category Management Advisor, Cenovus
  • Katherine Sinex, P.Eng., Alberta Regulatory Affairs Advisor, Chevron
  • Laura McIntyre, P.Eng., Senior Supervisor, Jackfish 3 Production Engineering, Devon Energy
  • Lauren Rooney, Business Strategy Consultant, Accenture
  • Laurence Nguyen, Senior National Account Manager, CN Rail
  • Leanne Zee, Senior Communications Specialist, Public Affairs and Communications, TransCanada

"As our membership continues to grow, so does the number of remarkable candidates each year and 2016 is no exception," says Kirstie Boyle, YWE Awards Manager. "It's our privilege to recognize this year's winners who are demonstrating exceptional leadership and vision while leading new and innovative initiatives benefiting the energy sector."

The 2016 YWE Awards were supported by an executive selection committee of today's senior industry leaders that include Gianna Manes, President and CEO, Enmax Corporation; Dr. Dan Wicklum, Chief Executive, Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA); Judy Fairburn, Executive Vice-President, Business Innovation, Cenovus; Mark Salkeld, President and CEO, Petroleum Services Association Canada (PSAC); and Lynne Allan, Dean of MacPhail School of Energy, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT). The executive selection committee was chosen based on their encouragement and belief in developing the next generation of leaders.

"All are exceptional candidates with above average skills and abilities, I was impressed by every one of them. This industry is in capable hands," says Mark Salkeld, President and CEO, PSAC, and a member of the 2016 YWE Awards executive selection committee.

Christa Tucker, Category Manager, Supply Chain Management at Husky Energy, and one of the 2016 YWE Award Winners says "I am honoured to be selected as an award winner this year. It has already kick started a few things that are really exciting. I am so appreciative of the opportunity and will do what I can to support the organization in return."

"YWE has an incredible opportunity to recognize and celebrate the achievements of young women who are changing the face of energy today," continues Katie. "These women, and all past award winners will serve as role models for future generations."

The winners of the 2016 YWE Award Winners will be honoured at the Energy's Futures: Blueprints for 2030 event on November 24, 2016. For more information on the winners and the event, please visit

About YWE

Young Women in Energy champions the interests of women working in the energy industry. YWE aims to address the recognized need to increase female presence, development and leadership in the industry. We are building an inclusive and supportive community of motivated women who are connecting with, and learning from, their peers.

Contact Information