The Terry Fox Foundation

The Terry Fox Foundation

September 14, 2005 14:49 ET

25 Years of Hope – 1 Dollar at a Time

The 25th anniversary of the Marathon of Hope Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Assignment Editor, City Editor, Education Editor, News Editor CHILLIWACK--(CCNMatthews - Sept. 14, 2005) - Close to 4 million Canadians will be running or walking to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Marathon of Hope this weekend. On Friday, Sept. 16, 3.3 million students at 10,000 schools across Canada will be running or walking to raise funds for cancer research in a coast to coast, simultaneous Terry Fox Run.

A two hour commercial free broadcast will cover the first Terry Fox National School Run Day that will be aired nationally on Friday, Sept. 16th at 8:00 p.m. As part of the coverage Bryan Adams will pay tribute in a taped live performance of "Open Road" to be played nationally on CBC's "25 Years of Hope: The Legacy of Terry Fox". It will feature coverage of school hosted Terry Fox Runs across Canada together with sharing the moving stories of the dedicated volunteers behind the movement. Country music star Carolyn Dawn Johnson will perform live in Victoria, B.C. a new original song entitled "This Chain", written by Amy Gillies-Foster, whose recent credits include Michael Bublé's hit "Home". Also featured will be "Memories of Terry" tributes by Mike Myers, Darryl Sittler, Rick Hansen and Jann Arden.

"Terry was said to have united a nation for a common cause in 1980" said Darrell Fox, National Director of The Terry Fox Foundation "25 years later Canadians will again gather to pay tribute to Terry but more importantly to him raise funds in his name."

It is expected to be one of the largest events in Canadian history and a historic day for students that have embraced Terry's dream of a cancer free world. If every student taking part was to run or walk an average of 1 km, it would be the equivalent of 75 laps around the planet.

Schools have been invited to synchronize their start times: 9:00 Pacific, 10:00 Mountain, 11:00 Central, 12:00 Eastern, 13:00 Atlantic, and 13:30, Newfoundland.

It is not too late for schools to register to take part. They can visit www.terryfoxrun.org or call 1-888-836-9786 for more information.

On Sunday, Sept. 18, the general public is invited to take part in a Terry Fox Run by running, walking or wheeling at one of close to 1000 locations across Canada. For more information and for runsite listings, visit www.terryfoxrun.org or call 1-888-836-9786.
/For further information: For more information contact:
Bill Vigars, Terry Fox Foundation,
Tel 604-790-2721
vigarspr@hotmail.com,
or
Peter Sheremeta,
National School Run Organizer,
The Terry Fox Foundation
Toll Free 1-888-837-7925
Tel: 514-871-3909
Fax: 514-871-8220
terry25@terryfoxrun.org
www.terryfoxrun.org
or
for details about Terry Fox Runs in your region, please call the Provincial Director of your local Terry Fox Foundation office at 1-888-836-9786/ IN: EDUCATION, ENTERTAINMENT, HEALTH, MEDIA, SOCIAL

Contact Information

  • Bill Vigars, Public Relations, Terry Fox Foundation
    Primary Phone: 604-790-2721
    Secondary Phone: 604-701-0246
    E-mail: vigarspr@hotmail.com