Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

September 23, 2014 17:47 ET

33rd Manning Innovation Awards Gala to Be Held in Ottawa on Oct. 22

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - Sept. 23, 2014) - The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation will hold its 33rd Innovation Awards Gala in Ottawa this October. Modeled after the Nobel Prize, Canada's most prestigious innovation awards will be presented at the Ottawa Westin on Wed. Oct. 22.

The Foundation honours, supports and draws public attention to Canadian innovators of all ages with the imagination to innovate and the stamina to succeed. The Foundation annually awards $165,000 in prizes making it Canada's richest innovation awards.

"As a national leader in innovation and entrepreneurship, Ottawa is pleased to welcome the Manning Innovation Awards," said Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson. "We look forward to celebrating the accomplishments of the 2014 Award recipients with the Foundation and its guests."

Honourary chairs of the 2014 Gala are Tom Jenkins, OC, chairman, Open Text Corporation and Dr. David Strangway, OC, president emeritus of the Universities of British Columbia and Toronto. Paul Ledwell, executive vice-president of the Public Policy Forum, chairs the Gala committee. Francesca Iacurto, Director, Government and External Relations at Forest Products Association of Canada, is vice chair.

Canadian astronaut Julie Payette, OC QC will be Master of Ceremonies. It is expected that more than 500 leaders from across Canada in government, business and academia, including members of the innovation community, will be in attendance to celebrate the 2014 Manning Laureates and Young Canadian Innovators.

Ontario's Lt. Governor Elizabeth Dowdeswell will be presenting the $100,000 Principal Award. Once again, Scotiabank is dinner sponsor as it has been for the past 33 years. Other sponsors of the awards and gala include Syncrude, Arthur J. Child Foundation, Cenovus, Shaw Communications, Devon Canada and Eli Lilly.

Since the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation began in 1980, more than 300 Canadian innovators of all ages have shared $4.5 million. Winners of the 2014 Manning Awards will be announced in the fall. Young Canadian Winners were announced at the Canada-Wide Science Fair in Windsor in May. The Foundation is named after Canada's second longest serving premier.

For more information about the 33rd Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards Gala, including tickets and table sponsorships visit Follow Manning Awards on Twitter @ManningAwardsCA, or like on Facebook at

Contact Information