Monsanto Canada Inc.

Monsanto Canada Inc.

September 15, 2009 08:00 ET

70 Students Net Over $100,000 in Scholarship Prize Money From Monsanto Canada

After 18 years, Monsanto exceeds $1 million mark in providing support for students from farm families looking to study agriculture

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - Sept. 15, 2009) - 70 outstanding students from across Canada who plan to pursue studies in agriculture are $1,500 richer after Monsanto Canada announced the list of winners in its 2009 Opportunity Scholarship Program. And after 18 years of offering its scholarship program, Monsanto has now provided more than $1 million to students from farm families who have chosen to pursue academic studies in agriculture.

The 2009 Monsanto Canada Opportunity Scholarship Program received over 160 applications from students across the country. The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges based on their academic performance, leadership capabilities and involvement in giving back to charitable or other service groups in their local communities. All applicants were also required to submit an application essay that answered the question, "In what area of agriculture or forestry would you like to work and why?"

"Monsanto Canada is always looking for ways to support young people from farm families and to give back to rural communities that have helped our business be successful. It is important to our business to enhance awareness of opportunities in the agricultural sector and to find a way to support students who want to pursue agriculture as a career path," said Trish Jordan, Monsanto Canada's director of public affairs and coordinator of the scholarship program.

The 2009 Opportunity Scholarship winners are all high school graduates from a farm family who are enrolled in a first-year agriculture or forestry-related degree or diploma program at a recognized Canadian educational institution.

This year's scholarship judging panel included: Bob Adamson, director of the Agriculture Biotechnology Enrichment (ABE) program; John Morriss, associate publisher and editorial director Farm Business Communications; Ellen Pruden, education and promotions coordinator with the Manitoba Canola Growers Association; and Johanne Ross, executive director, Agriculture in the Classroom - Manitoba.

Monsanto Canada has been awarding entrance scholarships since 1991 as a means to support rural youth and encourage students to explore studies and hopefully a career in agriculture or forestry. Since the program's inception, over $1 million has been awarded to hundreds of deserving students. Details on the launch of the 2010 Monsanto Canada Opportunity Scholarship Program will be released in February 2010 and will also be available online at

Headquartered in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Monsanto Canada Inc. is part of the larger global Monsanto family. Monsanto Company is an agricultural company and a leading global provider of technology-based solutions and agricultural products that improve farm productivity and food quality. Monsanto remains focused on enabling both small-holder and large-scale farmers to produce more from their land while conserving more of our world's natural resources such as water and energy. Learn more about our business and our commitments at

Monsanto Canada 2009

Opportunity Scholarship Winners


Kolten Carlson Cardston Inga Abrahamson Pelly
Cody Coleman Innisfail Stephanie Butt Mantario
Greg Cymbaluk Valleyview Michelle Callfas Lloydminster
Stacey Domolewski Taber Andrea De Roo Fairlight
Melissa Harke Barrhead Ian Epp Waldheim
Louisa Henry Bassano Ashley Gilmour Craik
Staci Klein Strome Andrea Gress Arborfield
Cali Lewis Clyde Breann Guraluick Ogema
Daniel Schwenk Coronation Brittany Jordet Hazenmore
Nathan Stamp Enchant Bo Langer Riverhurst
Jared Sundquist Stavely Braden Olson Plenty
Robert Wills Coutts Erin Ross Grenfell
Melissa Topham Eastend
Lindsay Weinrich Spiritwood
Denon Wreford Canwood


Kayla Antonowich Seddons Corner Amanda Byers Vanderhoof
Cortney Bezan Teulon Gina Flukiger Agassiz
David Boerchers Laurier Kaitlyn Schurmann Abbotsford
Alexander Boersch Elie Anya Sopow Summerland
Trevor Calvert Carberry
Jason Gemmill Pilot Mound
Nolan Giesbrecht Winkler
Megan Kemp Pilot Mound
James Kingdon Minnedosa
Shanisse Medd Hamiota
Amanda Snezyk Neepawa
Jillian Overby Inwood
Kara Rutherford Grosse Isle
Michael Vanwynsberghe Crystal City


Brandon Betts Glencoe Pierre-Olivier Caron Plessisville
Jessica Bickle Tavistock Melissa Duncan Ormstown
St-Prosper de
Sarah Campbell Strathroy Charles Gagnon Champlain
Melissa De Decker Delhi Tom Lynch Coaticook
Emily den Haan Loretto Christina Pelletier Eternite
Greta Haupt Hagersville Philippe Vernier Saint-Zotique
Sarah Hubbert Sundridge
Jackie Kaufman Woodstock
Ashley Knapton Almonte
Clinton Lichty Ariss
Christopher Macfarlane Peterborough
Colleen McLean Forest
Troy Pieterse Wainfleet
Edward Post Hay
Kathleen Spencer Bracebridge


Alexander Burrows Green Oak, NS
Alexander MacKinnon Montague, PEI
Karen Strehler Bonshaw, PEI
Jeanette Van de Linden Antigonish, NS

Contact Information

  • Monsanto Canada
    Trish Jordan
    (204) 985-1005