Alberta Medical Association

Alberta Medical Association

September 18, 2008 16:32 ET

Alberta Medical Association Appoints New President; Welcomes Canadian Medical Association President-Elect to Edmonton

EDMONTON, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Sept. 18, 2008) - The Alberta Medical Association (AMA) will induct its new president for 2008-09 this Saturday, September 20 during the annual general meeting (AGM) and Representative Forum (RF) at the Sutton Place Hotel.

Dr. Noel W. Grisdale officially begins his term as president on Saturday. Dr. Grisdale is a family physician at the Foothills Family Medical Centre in Black Diamond and a staff physician at the Oilfields General Hospital. He has been a member of the AMA Board of Directors since 2001, and is currently the AMA liaison to the Calgary and Area Physicians' Association. He is also past president of the former Headwaters Region 3 Medical Staff Association and the Rural Medical Staff Association of the former Calgary Regional Medical Staff Association.

Dr. Grisdale will introduce and welcome Dr. C.J. (Chip) Doig as AMA's president-elect for 2008-09. Dr. Doig is a Calgary intensive care physician. He is a long-standing member of the Representative Forum, first as the Section of Intensive Care representative from 2001 to 2003 and then as a member of the Board of Directors from 2003 to 2007.

Outgoing AMA President Dr. Darryl D. LaBuick will deliver his valedictory address at the AGM, reflecting on his term and the many successes and issues that emerged during the past year.

Saturday's meeting will also see the AMA welcome Canadian Medical Association (CMA) President-Elect Dr. Anne Doig, who will present CMA awards to Alberta physicians at the CMA President's Luncheon.

Dr. Doig will become the CMA's 142nd president in August 2009 during the annual assembly of the General Council. She is a family physician from Saskatoon and an active member of the medical staff of the Saskatoon Regional Health Authority. A clinical associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Saskatchewan, Dr. Doig has been twice honored for her commitment to teaching.

It is an interesting coincidence that Dr. Anne Doig will serve her term as CMA president at the same time that her brother, Dr. Chip Doig, will be president of the AMA.

The Representative Forum is the governing body of the AMA. It includes representatives of all sectors of the profession - specialty sections, regions, students, residents, past presidents and deans of medicine. The AMA president serves a one-year term, in addition to one year each as president-elect and immediate past president. The RF meets at least twice a year to establish policy and set direction.

Contact Information

  • Alberta Medical Association
    Ronald A. Kustra, ABC
    Assistant Executive Director (Public Affairs)
    Cell: (780) 990-4271
    Alberta Medical Association
    Shannon E. Rupnarain, MBA, ABC
    Director (Public Affairs)
    Cell: (780) 907-9003