SOURCE: Alliance for Digital Equality

February 08, 2010 19:01 ET

The Alliance for Digital Equality Celebrated Super Bowl XLIV™ in Style as They Hosted "A Gridiron Toast to Excellence"

Honorees of the Event Included Congressman James E. Clyburn, Tom Joyner, Debra Lee, Alonzo Mourning, Vicki Palmer and Gloria and Emilio Estefan

MIAMI, FL--(Marketwire - February 8, 2010) - Julius Hollis, Earl Cummings, Sean Pittman, Daniel Halpern, Robert Shumake, Sen. Rodney Ellis, David Rivers and Art Collins, in support of The Alliance for Digital Equality (ADE), kicked off Super Bowl XLIV™ weekend in style, as they hosted a private celebration, "A Gridiron Toast to Excellence," at the lush Mia at Biscayne on Friday, February 5, 2010. The lavish event primarily served to honor well-respected luminaries who excel in their respective fields of practice, consistently enriching the communities in which they live and work. In the field of politics, the ADE honored U.S. House of Representatives Majority Whip (SC-Dem), Congressman James E. Clyburn; in the field of media, honorees included nationally syndicated radio personality and philanthropist, Tom Joyner, as well as Chairman and CEO of BET Holdings, Debra Lee; in the field of sports/philanthropy, Miami Heat superstar and Chairman Emeritus of Alonzo Mourning Charities, Alonzo Mourning were honored; in the field of business, retired Executive Vice President of Coca-Cola, Vicki Palmer was recognized; and Miami legends, Gloria and Emilio Estefan were recognized in the field of entertainment/philanthropy.

Julius Hollis, Chairman of The Alliance for Digital Equality, a non-partisan, non-profit organization that seeks to bridge the technology divide between underserved ethnic and minority communities within the United States and the technology advanced marketplace, has staged this event since 1993 with past honorees including Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin; former Mayor of Houston, Lee P. Brown; music business pioneer and chief executive, Clarence Avant; Chairman of the Democratic Leadership Council, Harold Ford, Jr. real estate magnate, R. Donahue Peebles; and Ernie Greene to name only a few.

"I was extremely proud and honored to have been able to recognize these individuals during our 17th Annual Pre-Super Bowl™ celebration. It is men and women like Congressman Clyburn, Mr. Joyner, Ms. Lee, Mr. Mourning, Ms. Palmer and Mr. & Mrs. Estefan that lift up the African-American and Hispanic communities with their tireless philanthropic efforts," stated Julius Hollis, chairman of the Alliance for Digital Equality.

Seeking to end the ever-increasing "digital divide," the ADE is becoming the leading voice of underserved communities on matters that not only pertain to technology, but to telecommunications reform and product awareness as well. By establishing "digital empowerment councils" in cities as diverse as Miami, Atlanta, Detroit, Houston, Charleston, Boston, Chicago, Washington DC and Los Angeles, actively involved citizens (with sponsorship from the ADE) are able to establish local policies in regards to broadband initiatives, making sure that those living in underserved communities stay on par with technological advancements.

Images of the event may be found at:

Media inquiries can be directed to Circle of One Marketing, 305-576-3790. For information on The Alliance for Digital Equality:

About The Alliance for Digital Equality

The Alliance for Digital Equality is a non-profit consumer advocacy organization that serves to facilitate and ensure equal access to technology in underserved communities. The Alliance also serves as a bridge between policymakers and minority individuals in order to help the public understand how legislative and regulatory policies regarding new technologies can impact and empower their daily lives.

Contact Information

  • Media Contact
    Suzan McDowell
    Circle of One Marketing
    (305) 576-3790
    Email Contact