Human Resources and Skills Development Canada

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada

June 23, 2010 13:08 ET

Appointment to National Seniors Council

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 23, 2010) - The Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development, the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health, and the Honourable Diane Ablonczy, Minister of State (Seniors), today announced the appointment of a new member to the National Seniors Council.

"I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mrs. Leonie Napa Duffy as a new member of the National Seniors Council," said Minister Finley. "Her leadership, knowledge and experience will be valuable assets to the Council."

Mrs. Duffy has been very active in Coral Harbour, Nunavut, working as a teaching assistant, a teacher and a nurse's aide. She is also a long-time hotel owner and manager, as well as a church pastor. Mrs. Duffy has been elected to office on numerous occasions, and is currently serving as a member of the Keewatin Business Development Centre. She holds many awards, including Fellow of the Arctic Institute of North America (1999), a Governor General Commemorative Medal (1992), and an award from the Hamlet Council of Coral Harbour (1995).

The National Seniors Council provides advice to the federal government on matters related to the well-being and quality of life of Canada's seniors, including new opportunities and issues arising from a rapidly growing and increasingly diverse seniors' population.

Members appointed to the National Seniors Council bring with them unique perspectives and experiences that help the federal government understand the issues facing seniors today. The National Seniors Council may comprise of a maximum of 12 members, including the Chair.

For more information on the Council, please visit

This news release is available in alternative formats upon request.

Contact Information

  • Office of Minister Finley
    Michelle Bakos
    Press Secretary
    Human Resources and Skills Development Canada
    Media Relations Office