Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency

September 29, 2009 12:01 ET

Appointment to the Canada Revenue Agency Board of Management

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Sept. 29, 2009) - The Honourable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, Minister of National Revenue and Minister of State (Agriculture and Agri-Food), is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Gerard J. Fitzpatrick to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Board of Management. Mr. Fitzpatrick was nominated by the Province of Prince Edward Island.
"Mr. Fitzpatrick's thirty years of experience as a chartered accountant and founding member of two chartered accounting firms in Prince Edward Island will contribute to the Board's role within the CRA," said Minister Blackburn. "The Board is an integral part of the Agency's unique governance structure and I am confident that Mr. Fitzpatrick's membership will be beneficial to the work of the Board in the years to come."

While the Minister of National Revenue retains full accountability to Parliament and to Canadian citizens for all CRA activities, the Board of Management is responsible for overseeing the organization and administration of the Agency and the management of its resources, services, property, personnel, and contracts. The Board brings a forward-looking, strategic perspective to the CRA's operations and fosters sound management and service delivery.

The Act to establish the Canada Revenue Agency specifies the establishment of a Board of Management. The Board comprises 15 members, including the Chair, the Commissioner, 11 directors nominated by the provinces and territories, and two directors nominated by the Federal Government. All members are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Act requires that each director nominated by a province or a territory must be selected by the Governor General in Council from a list of nominees submitted by the minister responsible for revenue administration in the province or the territory, or by another minister that the province or the territory designates.


Contact Information

  • Canada Revenue Agency
    Noel Carisse
    Media Relations
    Office of the Minister of National Revenue
    Roxanne Marchand
    Director of Communications