Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency

June 22, 2010 13:00 ET

Appointment to the Canada Revenue Agency Board of Management

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 22, 2010) - Keith Ashfield, Minister of National Revenue, Minister of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, and Minister for the Atlantic Gateway, today announced the appointment of Mr. Richard J. Daw to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Board of Management. Mr. Daw was nominated by the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

"Mr. Daw's broad experience in both the public and private sectors as a chartered accountant, a member of various professional associations, and also a radio host, author, and speaker on business and tax issues will enrich the work of the current board," said Minister Ashfield. "Mr. Daw will be a significant addition to this central part of the CRA's governance structure."

While the Minister of National Revenue retains full accountability to Parliament and to Canadian citizens for all CRA activities, the Board of Management is responsible for overseeing the organization and administration of the CRA and the management of its resources, services, property, personnel, and contracts. The board brings a forward-looking, strategic perspective to the CRA's operations and fosters sound management and service delivery.

The act to establish the Canada Revenue Agency specifies the establishment of a board of management. The board comprises 15 members, including the Chair, the Commissioner, 11 directors nominated by the provinces and territories, and two directors nominated by the federal government. All members are appointed by the Governor in Council. The act requires that each director nominated by a province or a territory must be selected by the Governor in Council from a list of nominees submitted by the minister responsible for revenue administration in the province or the territory, or by another minister that the province or the territory designates.

Contact Information

  • Noel Carisse
    Media Relations
    Canada Revenue Agency
    Erin Filliter
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of National Revenue