Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

November 16, 2009 15:57 ET

Appointment to the Canadian Museum of Nature Board of Trustees

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 16, 2009) - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced the appointment of Barbara J. Barry as member of the Canadian Museum of Nature Board of Trustees.

"I am pleased to announce Ms. Barry's appointment," said Minister Moore. "Her substantial business, finance, and administration skills, combined with an understanding of Canada's natural environment, make her a valuable addition to the Board."

Since 2006, Ms. Barry has been the President of ELE Management, a business and communications consulting firm. Prior to this position, she was Director of Communications at TXU Energy. She also occupied various management positions with Thompson Financial Investor Relations and Bell Mobility. She joined the Public Service of Canada in 1990 where she worked at the former department of Energy, Mines and Resources before moving to the Privy Council Office where she was responsible for, among other things, financial, environmental, and fisheries files.

Ms. Barry holds a Master's degree in Business Administration from the Institut Superieur de Gestion of Paris, France. She also has a Bachelor of Education and a Master of Education from the University of British Columbia.

Ms. Barry is very involved in her community. She was a member of the Board of Governors of the 2008 North American Indigenous Games Society. She also helped launch the Equitas/Vancouver Parks Board Play it Fair Toolkit for 6-12 year olds, and helped develop a public school program for Grade 10 students on banking, insurance, and securities.

The Canadian Museum of Nature is an important federal cultural organization dedicated to knowledge and appreciation of our natural environment throughout Canada and the world. For more information, please visit the Museum's website at

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications