British Columbia Safety Authority

British Columbia Safety Authority

November 21, 2007 17:00 ET

BC Safety Authority Honours Safety Champions at 3rd Annual Lieutenant Governor's Awards for Public Safety

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwire - Nov. 21, 2007) - The British Columbia Safety Authority honoured this year's safety champions at the 3rd Annual Lieutenant Governor's Awards for Public Safety today.

"We had many outstanding nominations from different industries from across the province," said Harry Diemer, President and CEO, BC Safety Authority. "This year's award recipients share a common trait - they are committed to safety excellence and building safer communities for British Columbians."

The awards luncheon, held at the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, recognized an individual, organization and an inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award recipient for their exceptional leadership, innovation or accomplishments in the promotion of safety in British Columbia.

The 2007 award recipients:

- Ronald Thomas Caldwell, Vice President of Health, Safety and Disability
Management for The Mining Association of British Columbia
(Individual Safety Award)

- BC One Call (Organization Safety Award)

- Don Nelson, Industry Services Manager, Construction, WorkSafeBC
(Lifetime Achievement Award)

The award recipients were selected by a Partners Steering Committee, which includes a senior staff member of the BC Safety Authority, representatives of partnering safety organizations, and respected individuals in the safety field.

The awards luncheon was generously sponsored by Alcan Primary Metal - BC Operations (Exclusive Platinum Sponsor); Terasen Gas and Fortis BC (Gold Sponsor); Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of British Columbia, BC One Call, Chevron, Canadian Standards Association, Teck Cominco, The Employment Paper, a division of the Business in Vancouver Newspaper Group, The Mining Association of BC and WorkSafeBC (Silver Sponsors); Electrical Contractors Association of BC, Spectra Energy, British Columbia Construction Association, Bull, Housser & Tupper, Electrical Industry Training Institute, Underwriter's Laboratories of Canada, and the Vancouver Regional Construction Association (Bronze Sponsors).

The British Columbia Safety Authority is an independent, self-funded corporation that provides cost-effective and essential safety services to business, industry and the general public throughout the province. For more information, visit

To view the backgrounder information on the award recipients please click on the following link:

Contact Information