SOURCE: Nemo Publishing

The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli

November 25, 2009 06:07 ET

Buy a Book and We'll Give a Book: "The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli" Crew Donates Graphic Novels to the METRO Toy Bus

PORTLAND, ME--(Marketwire - November 25, 2009) - Purchase "The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli" graphic novel series and, for every book sold, Nemo Publishing will donate a book to the Greater Portland Transit District's annual METRO toy bus to help "stuff a bus" with toys and books for kids in need this holiday season.

Written and illustrated by Jay Piscopo, Volumes 1 and 2 of "The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli" are available now and Volume 3 is scheduled for release in 2010.

You can order this series online at this link Or, if you're in Maine, you can purchase these books at Casablanca Comics in Portland or Windham. When you buy a "Capt'n Eli" graphic novel at Casablanca Comics you'll receive a free bottle of handcrafted Capt'n Eli's Root Beer. For store hours and directions, visit this link

More about "The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli": From the boundless imagination of Jay Piscopo comes the epic "Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli" -- a graphic novel series in the tradition of Jules Verne, Herge, and classic comic strips like Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers. With his companions Jolly Roger, a 200-year-old parrot, and the faithful seadog Barney, Capt'n Eli takes readers into a mesmerizing world of time travel, high-tech ships, flying mini-subs, robots, lost civilizations, and undersea empires in conflict.

This graphic novel series is perfect for children ages 6-13 and also has strong retro appeal for adults who enjoy classic adventure comics or TV cartoons like "Jonny Quest" and "Space Ghost."

This series is published by Nemo Publishing and distributed nationally by Diamond Comics Distributors. Read more about the series at this link:

Capt'n Eli's origins are quite unique: he's the namesake of real-life World War II veteran Eli Forsley who was the inspiration for this line of Maine-made sodas. Read the story behind the story at this link:

More about Jay Piscopo: Jay Piscopo is the author and illustrator of "The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli." He has been making state-of-the-art children's entertainment for nearly 20 years. He served as an art director at Tom Snyder Productions, where he led the creative team in the production of educational CD-ROMs, including the award-winning "Fizz and Martina Math Adventures" and was as an animator on the ABC Saturday morning show "Squigglevision." He was also the co-creator of the internationally distributed comic book series featuring the world's first disabled superheroes, "The Scrap City Pack Rats," which he created in partnership with Goodwill Industries. This six-issue series received national media attention for its groundbreaking approach and subject matter. He has conducted hundreds of workshops and classroom events teaching drawing and storytelling techniques. He resides in his home town of Portland, Maine.

More about METRO Stuff a Bus: On Friday, December 4, the METRO Stuff a Bus will be parked in front of the METRO Pulse, the Downtown Transportation Center, at Elm Street in Portland (off Congress Street, near the Portland Public Library) collecting new, unwrapped toys and books from 11:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. For more information, visit or call 207-774-0351.



Contact Information