CPRS Canadian Public Relations Society

CPRS Canadian Public Relations Society

April 24, 2008 09:00 ET

CPRS (Toronto) Announces the 2008 Achieving Communications Excellence (ACE) Award Winners

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - April 24, 2008) - The Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) of Toronto and the public relations community celebrated and recognized outstanding work among its peers at last evening's annual Achieving Communications Excellence (ACE) Awards gala.

"Once again our fellow public relations practitioners have impressed us with their innovative and strategic work," said Lawrence Stevenson, president, CPRS (Toronto).

The highly prized Best Creative PR Campaign of the Year went to DDB Public Relations for the campaign, Bosch Home Appliances: The 2007 Bosch Eco-Legacy Campaign. "DDB Public Relations took a creative approach that resonated well with journalists and their readership and viewership -- energy- and style-conscious Canadian women who make up the Bosch Home Appliances core demographic," said Stevenson. "DDB created the ultimate energy-efficient, style-leading Bosch kitchen environment and literally took it on the road - to great response from all of Bosch's key publics."

The prestigious PR Campaign of the Year Award went to PraxisPR for the campaign, Manulife Investments Income Plus Pre-Launch and Launch. "Praxis PR developed and executed a textbook public relations campaign in support of its client's introduction of a new retirement planning offering - from research and analysis to communications and evaluation," said Stevenson. "It was an intelligent and creative program that, above all else, was very effectively executed."

The award winners were selected by a distinguished panel of senior level judges from the public relations industry, top public relations school programs, government and not-for-profit sector.

Other notable winners include:

- Kristen Marano, PR Student of the Year

- John Challinor II, APR, Volunteer of the Year

- Daniel Torchia, APR, PR Mentor of the Year

- Joanne Kearney, Young PR Professionals of the Year

- Christina Marshall, APR, PR Professional of the Year

For a full list of the 2008 CPRS (Toronto) ACE Awards winners and high resolution photos from the gala, please visit our website at www.cprstoronto.com/ace.

Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS)

CPRS is a national association representing the public relations profession, through the establishment and maintenance of high professional, educational and ethical standards. CPRS (Toronto) is one of the largest member societies with more than 600 members.

Contact Information