Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

May 03, 2010 09:00 ET

Canada Council for the Arts to Administer Canada Prizes for the Arts and Creativity

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 3, 2010) - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced that the Canada Council for the Arts will administer the Canada Prizes for the Arts and Creativity. The Council is respected in Canada and internationally for its success in administering impartially juried awards and prizes in the arts and culture sector, which it has done for half a century.

Minister Moore also announced the creation of an advisory panel of experts that will generate a series of recommendations and options regarding the parameters of the Canada Prizes. The members of the Advisory Panel are Joseph L. Rotman, Simon Brault, Tony Gagliano, Liza Maheu, and Jennifer Clarke.

"As promised, the Government of Canada is delivering on its commitment to create the Canada Prizes for the Arts and Creativity," said Minister Moore. "These Prizes will recognize outstanding Canadian artistic achievements and will help brand Canada as a centre of excellence. We are confident that the Advisory Panel, composed of prominent Canadians from the cultural sector, will contribute to the successful future of this initiative."

"The Canada Council is grateful to the Minister for giving it the responsibility of administering the prizes and the associated endowment," said Joseph L. Rotman, Canada Council Chair. "As members of the Advisory Panel, we also look forward to bringing our perspective and expertise in this field to the design of the prizes."

The Advisory Panel will benefit from discussions with key figures in the arts and culture sector as it considers the best model for the Canada Prizes. It will also take into account written submissions from Canadians interested in sharing their views about this initiative through an online consultation process. To take part in this online consultation, Canadians are invited to visit

The Advisory Panel is expected to provide the Government of Canada with a final report in summer 2010. For more information on the Advisory Panel members, consult the attached biographical notes.

In Canada's Economic Action Plan 2009, the Government of Canada announced its intention to create the Canada Prizes for the Arts and Creativity through a $25-million endowment. This commitment was reiterated in the 2010 Budget.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)



Joseph L. Rotman is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario, the University of Toronto, and Columbia University. Mr. Rotman is Chairman of Roy-L Capital Corporation, a private family investment company. He has served on numerous corporate boards, including the Bank of Montreal, Barrick Gold Corporation, Canada Northwest Energy Ltd., Masonite International, and TrizecHahn Corp. He founded Tarragon Oil and Gas, Geocrude Energy, PanCana Resources, PanCana Minerals, and Embassy Resources, as well as a number of other companies, and served as their Chair. He also founded Clairvest Group Inc., a merchant bank, and continues to serve as a Member of the Board.

In 2009, Mr. Rotman was appointed Chairman of Grand Challenges Canada, a new, independent non-profit organization funded by the Government of Canada to deliver the Development Innovation Fund announced in Budget 2008. In July 2008, Mr. Rotman was appointed to a five-year term as Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts. He previously served as Chair of the Board (1993–1996) and a Board Member (1991–2000) of the Art Gallery of Ontario, as well as a Member of the Board of the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards (1996–1998).

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Matthew Deacon - Press Secretary
    Canadian Heritage
    Media Relations