SOURCE: Casting Society of America

November 06, 2007 01:30 ET

Casting Society of America Announces Winners of 23rd Annual Artios Awards® for Outstanding Achievements in Casting

Amongst the 20 Awards Presented, "Lethal Weapon" Producer/Director Richard Donner and NBC Casting Exec Marc Hirschfeld Received Special Honors at Annual Award Ceremony

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - November 6, 2007) - In front of a packed ballroom of over 900 Industry professionals at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles, CA, the Casting Society of America announced the winners of the 23rd Artios Awards®, November 5, 2007. Presented yearly for outstanding achievement in casting, the awards were given on the criteria of originality, creativity and the contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project.

"The Artios Awards are intended to celebrate the work that we do that sometimes goes unnoticed," said Dawn Steinberg, Event Chairperson and Senior Vice President, Talent and Casting, Sony Pictures Television. "This very important evening provided our community the opportunity to honor ourselves, and to further demonstrate the pride that we have in the work that has been accomplished during the course of a year."

In addition to the 20 different theatrical casting categories announced during the award presentation, the Casting Society of America also recognized producer/director Richard Donner with the Career Achievement Award, and casting director Marc Hirschfeld with the Hoyt Bowers Award. Mike Nichols was honored with the Apple Award in New York.

Highlights of the evening included an original song performed by casting director Bruce Newberg and vocalist and Broadway star Sam Harris, along with film tributes to Richard Donner and Marc Hirschfeld.

Presenting the awards to the winners were Chevy Chase ("Saturday Night Live," "Christmas Vacation"), Rosario Dawson ("Rent," "Grindhouse"), Madison Pettis ("Hannah Montana," "The Game Plan"), Emmy Award® winner Holland Taylor ("The Practice," "Two and a Half Men," "Legally Blonde"), John Krasinski ("The Office," "Dreamgirls"), Mark-Paul Gosselaar ("Law Dogs," "NYPD Blue," "Commander in Chief"), Lindsay Sloane ("Nancy Drew," "The Stones," "The Wonder Years"), two-time Tony Award® Winner Cherry Jones ("24," "Ocean's Twelve," "The Perfect Storm"), and Paul Schneider ("The Assassination of Jesse James," "Lars and the Real Girl," "Third Watch"). The Career Achievement Award to Richard Donner was presented by Danny Glover ("Lethal Weapon," "Dreamgirls"). Emmy Award® winner Allison Janney ("The West Wing," "Hairspray") presented Marc Hirschfeld with the Hoyt Bowers Award. David Alan Grier ("Life with Bonnie") was host for the evening.

The complete list of winners are as follows:

Career Achievement Award: Richard Donner

Hoyt Bowers Award: Marc Hirschfeld

Apple Award: Mike Nichols

Feature Film Casting -- Drama: Debra Zane and Jay Binder, "Dreamgirls"

Feature Film Casting -- Comedy: Ilene Starger, Coreen Mayrs & Heike Brandstatter (Vancouver Casting), "Night at the Museum"

Independent Feature Film Casting: Eyde Belasco, "Half Nelson"

Action/Horror Feature Film Casting: Amanda Mackey and Cathy Sandrich Gelfond, "Smokin' Aces"

Movie Of The Week Casting: René Haynes, "Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee"

Mini Series Casting: Felicia Fasano, "Sleeper Cell: American Terror"

Daytime Episodic Casting: Judy Blye Wilson, "All My Children"

Animated Voice-Over Feature Casting: Ruth Lambert, "The Ant Bully"

Animated Voice-Over Television Casting: Gillian O'Neill, "Celebrity Death Match"

Dramatic Episodic Casting: Julie Tucker, "Rescue Me"

Comedy Episodic Casting: Sheila Jaffe & Georgianne Walken, "Entourage"

Dramatic Pilot Casting: Gillian O'Neill and Jeanie Bacharach, "Brothers & Sisters"

Comedy Pilot Casting: Junie Lowry Johnson and Bernard Telsey (Location Casting), "Ugly Betty"

Children's TV Casting: Carol Goldwasser and Howard Meltzer, "Hannah Montana"

Dramatic Theater Casting: Daniel Swee, "The Coast of Utopia"

Comedy Theater Casting: Jim Carnahan & Mele Nagler, "Prelude to a Kiss"

Musical Theater Casting: Jim Carnahan, "Spring Awakening"

Off-Broadway Theater Casting: Stephanie Klapper, "An Oak Tree"

Regional Theater (Lort): Alaine Alldaffer, "Present Laughter"

L.A. Theater: Michael Donovan, "Fences"

History of the Artios Awards

The term "Artios" is from the ancient Greek word meaning "perfectly fitted," and in 1985, the Casting Society established the Artios Awards to recognize the significance of casting to the success of a movie, television or theatrical production. In October of 1985, the Casting Society of America presented the first awards for excellence in casting at an Artios Awards luncheon. Held in the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel, the event was attended by more than 500 industry leaders. Seven CSA members were honored in four different casting categories. The award named in his honor was presented posthumously to Hoyt Bowers. The Lifetime Achievement Award (now called the Career Achievement Award) was presented to Renee Valente. Three years later, the first Artios for theatrical production was presented in an added New York ceremony. Today, members are honored in twenty different theatrical casting categories in simultaneous events held in Los Angeles and New York.

About CSA

The Casting Society of America is the premier organization of theatrical Casting Directors in film, television, and theater and is passionately committed to establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the industry; enhancing the stature of the profession in the industry; freely exchanging information and ideas among members; providing the opportunity to honor the outstanding achievements of our members; and providing members with professional support and resources. Working in conjunction with the newly established Teamsters affiliation, CSA members are a united professional society that consistently sets the level of professionalism in casting on which the entertainment industry has come to rely.

With more than 360 members, the Casting Society of America has representation not only in the United States, but also in Canada, England and Australia. For more information, please visit or call 323-463-1925.

Contact Information