National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

November 07, 2007 17:50 ET

Correction: Larissa Tobacco to Host 15th Annual Achievement Awards!

Larissa Tobacco to Host 15th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards

CORRECTION from Source - correct copy follows: Original ReleaseID 200711070003 In a previous press release issued by National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation at Nov 7 2007 3:46PM, errors occurred. There is a mistake in the listing of Larissa as Ojibway. It should read: "Larissa Tobacco, a Cree actress from Winnipeg,..." Correction has been made to body copy. Thank you. Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Assignment Editor, City Editor, Media Editor, News Editor TORONTO, ONTARIO, MEDIA ADVISORY--(Marketwire - Nov. 7, 2007) - Larissa Tobacco, a Cree actress from Winnipeg, has been selected to host the 15th National Aboriginal Achievement Awards Gala Event to be held March 7, 2008, at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto. Ms. Tobacco best known as an APTN entertainment personality was also a finalist in the 2006 Much Music VJ Search, and is currently starring in Eye of the Beast on Movie Central.

"Larissa is an amazing talent who brings a magnetic personality and infectious energy to this outstanding celebration, stated Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation. "I am also delighted to announce, the multi-talented Jennifer Podemski is returning to provide her exceptional artistic vision as creative producer, once again creating a magnificent theatrical experience"

Ms. Jamieson described the gala event as "a beautiful and inspirational celebration of the success of these outstanding achievers who inspire us all to live with intention. Their determination teaches us that we can all be resilient in the face of adversity. They provide us with a lifetime legacy to inspire youth to harness their potential and realize their dreams."

"This show is our gift to all Canadians. For one night we will all come together as one to celebrate the exceptional achievers among our peoples, said Ms. Jamieson. "We honour these exceptional First Nations, Inuit and Métis role models through song, multi-media and dance, together we can make a difference."

Set on a backdrop of the Canadian Shield, aglow with electric petroglyphs, the 15th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards is a fusion of stories and teachings from the past and present, woven throughout the production to create an exhilarating, awe-inspiring lively spectacle.

The event celebrating the achievements of 14 First Nations, Inuit and Métis champions will take place March 7, 2008, live from the Sony Centre of Performing Arts in Toronto.

Tickets for gala event are available starting November 7, 2007.Visit to order online or download a ticket order form. Purchases can also be made by phone by calling: 1-416-987-0240 and asking for Veronica Powless or email . Purchases made by December 21st, 2007, receive an additional 10% off regularly priced individual tickets.

The show will be telecast nationally on a later date by both Global TV and Aboriginal People's Television Network (APTN).

The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards were created in 1994 to celebrate and promote positive role models to Aboriginal youth. The awards are part of the work of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation, a charitable organization that encourages and empowers young Aboriginal people in order to advance their educational and career opportunities. Since 1988, the Foundation has provided more than $24 million to deserving Aboriginal students across the country, with scholarship disbursements reaching almost $3 million each year.

Private Sector Support:
Lead Corporate Sponsor: CIBC
APTN, Air Canada, Alliance Pipelines, BP Canada Energy Company, Casino Rama, Global Television, Ft. McKay, Nabors Canada, Nexen Inc., Suncor Energy Foundation

Public Sector Support:
Government of Canada
Aboriginal Business Canada, Canadian Forces, Canadian Heritage, Office of the Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-status Indians, Health Canada, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
/For further information: Scott Cavan, Dir. Communications
416.926.0775 ext: 237

Contact Information

  • Scott Cavan, Director of Communications, National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
    Primary Phone: 416-926-0775 ext. 237
    Secondary Phone: 416-903-4331
    Toll-Free: 800-329-9780