SOURCE: McNicoll, Lewis & Vlak

January 20, 2010 16:50 ET

Experienced Wall Street Team Launches McNicoll, Lewis & Vlak, an Independent Full Service Investment Bank and Institutional Broker Dealer Focused on Growth Oriented Companies in Capital Intensive Sectors

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - January 20, 2010) - A team of experienced Wall Street investment bankers, traders and sell side analysts announced today the establishment of a new independent full service investment bank and institutional broker dealer. McNicoll, Lewis & Vlak, or MLV is focused on providing efficient capital raising to growth oriented issuers and high-touch execution to institutional investors.

The MLV healthcare research team, led by Christopher James, M.D. and George Zavoico, Ph. D., initiated coverage on four small cap issuers on January 11, 2010. Dr. James was previously a senior healthcare analyst with Trivium Capital and Rodman & Rendshaw. Dr. Zavoico was previously a senior healthcare analyst with Westport Capital and Cantor Fitzgerald. MLV believes there is substantial undiscovered or underappreciated value in the life sciences sector especially for small and mid cap companies. MLV intends to add full research capabilities in other capital intensive sectors such as energy.

MLV's founder and President, Patrice McNicoll, comments that, "Our research team intends to uncover value for our institutional clients and our traders are committed to best execution. We intend to continue expanding the at-the-market issuance (ATM) and capital markets practice that our principals have been building. One of our key goals is to provide capital to growth companies with minimal price disruptions."

Mr. McNicoll was previously a managing director at Wm Smith and Cantor Fitzgerald & Co, in New York. At Wm Smith over the last year and a half he implemented a dozen ATM financings with mostly healthcare and oil & gas issuers.

Mr. McNicoll is joined by Brent Lewis and Conrad Vlak. Brent Lewis is responsible for energy and infrastructure investment banking at MLV. Prior to creating MLV, Mr. Lewis was a Managing Director in investment banking at Wm Smith & Co. as well as a senior banker at Marathon Capital, Cantor Fitzgerald and ABN AMRO in New York.

Mr. Vlak is responsible for real estate and related transaction opportunities at MLV. Before joining MLV, Mr. Vlak was a Managing Director with Wm Smith & Co. where he specialized in real estate transactions. Prior to Wm Smith & Co., Mr. Vlak was a director at CIT Group, Inc. in New York.

About MLV: MLV is an independent full service investment bank and institutional broker dealer located in New York City.

For media please contact Mike Boyd at: 212.542.5883 or mboyd@mlvco.com

For trading please contact Chris Bleuel (or Mike Boyd) at: 212.542.5881 or cbleuel@mlvco.com

For healthcare research please contact Christopher James at 212.542.5874 or cjames@mlvco.com or George Zavoico at 212.542.5877 or gzavoico@mlvco.com

For capital markets please contact Patrice McNicoll at: 212.542.5866 or pmcnicoll@mlvco.com

For health care investment banking please contact Huy Pham at: 212.542.5869 or hpham@mlvco.com

For energy and infrastructure investment banking please contact Brent Lewis at: 212.542.5864 or blewis@mlvco.com

For real-estate investment banking please contact Conrad Vlak at: 212.542.5865 or cvlak@mlvco.com

McNicoll, Lewis & Vlak LLC is a FINRA & SIPC member

Contact Information

  • MLV
    420 Lexington Ave., Suite 628
    New York, NY 10170
    212.542.5866
    917.796.4879 mobile
    www.mlvco.com