SOURCE: Forum for Corporate Directors

January 14, 2008 13:42 ET

Five Outstanding Corporate Directors to Be Honored at the 2008 'Director of the Year' Event

NEWPORT BEACH, CA--(Marketwire - January 14, 2008) - The Forum for Corporate Directors (FCD), a leading Southern California resource for promoting excellence in corporate governance and boardroom leadership, will honor five outstanding corporate directors at the organization's gala 13th annual Director of the Year awards event, to be held at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, on Wednesday, February 27, 2008.

"The Forum for Corporate Directors was founded specifically to promote the highest standards of corporate ethics and best governance practices for boards of directors of both public and privately-held corporations and institutions. This annual awards program was created in the early 1990s to honor directors who, along with an outstanding community of corporate directors in Orange County, help influence and guide companies and organizations to achieve both individual and corporate excellence," said John Rehfeld, FCD Chairman.

"The five honorees being recognized at the 2008 event have consistently demonstrated the highest levels of transparency, independence, accountability and leadership on behalf of their shareholders, and each is being honored for his or her career accomplishments in particular areas of mentorship and influence within the sphere of good governance," Rehfeld noted.

The 2008 Director of the Year honorees, their categories and board affiliations are:

-- Barbara Alexander, for Corporate Governance. Ms. Alexander currently
serves on the boards of Centex Corporation, Harrah's Entertainment, Inc.,
Freddie Mac, and Qualcomm Incorporated;

-- Bala Iyer, for Corporate Growth and Development.  Mr. Iyer currently
serves on the boards of Conexant Systems, Inc., IHS, Inc., Invitrogen
Corporation, Power Integrations, Inc., QLogic Corporation, and Skyworks
Solutions, Inc.;

-- Jeanne Jackson, for Corporate Leadership and Service. Ms. Jackson
currently serves on the boards of McDonald's Corporation, Nike, Inc., and
Nordstrom, Inc.;

-- Glenn Schafer, for Enhancement of Economic Value. Mr. Schafer currently
serves on the boards of Beckman Coulter, Inc., Janus Capital Group Inc.,
Skilled Healthcare Group, Inc., and Michigan State Foundation;

-- Luis Villalobos, for Early Stage Companies.  Mr. Villalobos currently
serves on the boards of Big Stage, YouMail, Inc., and Vigilistics, Inc.,
and is the founder and a board member of Tech Coast Angels.

"This year, the FCD will also present its Chairman's Award to Dr. Nicolaos G. Alexopoulos, Dean of The Henry Samueli School of Engineering at the University of California, Irvine," added Rehfeld. "The Chairman's Award is given to individuals who have consistently made outstanding contributions to corporate governance, FCD or to their profession. This is only the third time the FCD has granted this prestigious award and we are honored to present it to Dr. Alexopoulos for his contributions to the engineering profession and education and his support of entrepreneurial endeavors which have resulted in the creation of some of Orange County's best companies."

The 2008 Director of the Year festivities will be held on Wednesday, February 27, at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, California, starting at 5:30 p.m. Terry Goldfarb-Lee, Resources Global Professionals and Rick Rayson, Deloitte & Touche LLP are the co-chairs for the event. Additional information and online registration for this event is available on the FCD web site at

About Forum for Corporate Directors

Founded in 1991, the Forum for Corporate Directors is Orange County's leading resource for assisting individual directors and entire boards to achieve excellence in corporate governance. FCD is a non-profit organization that offers dynamic forums for director peer interaction, conducts ISS-certified director education and development programs, and provides directors and executives of public and private companies the opportunity to gain valuable ideas and information that promote board leadership and corporate governance.

The FCD's members include many of Southern California's top business and corporate leaders. In addition, Corporate Members include Advanced Medical Optics, Alacer Corp., Broadcom Corporation, Commerce Energy Group, Emulex Corporation, HireRight, Multi-Fineline Electronix, Microsemi Corporation, National Technical Systems, Powerwave Technologies, QLogic Corporation, Resources Global Professionals, SRS Labs, The Ensign Group, and The Paul Merage School of Business Executive MBA Programs at UC Irvine.

Contact Information

  • For additional information on the event or for sponsorship information,
    please contact:
    Michelle Conry
    Operations Manager
    Forum for Corporate Directors
    4675 MacArthur Court, Suite 800
    Newport Beach, California 92660
    (949) 375-3323
    Email Contact