SOURCE: Automobile Club of Southern California

Automobile Club of Southern California

April 22, 2010 10:30 ET

Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills Championship Seeks to Find Best Calif. High School Auto Tech Team

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - April 22, 2010) -

WHAT:   Ten top high school auto technology student teams, the automotive technicians of the future, will repair identically "bugged" Mercury Milan vehicles at the 2010 Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills Competition. The competition seeks to find the state's best aspiring auto repair team.
    The competition started in 1949 to encourage high schoolers to consider automotive careers. Judges grade teams on knowledge, mechanical abilities and a hands-on under the hood competition where students demonstrate best workmanship in the shortest time. The team with the best score will represent California at the 2010 National Finals at Ford Motor Company World Headquarters in June. Last year more than $10 million in scholarships and prizes were offered, including a car for the top winning schools automotive programs.
WHY:   Trained automotive technicians are highly sought in today's job market, but many high schools have reduced or eliminated automotive education. Auto dealers and repair facilities scout the skills competition for future employees because demand for qualified technicians to repair today's complex cars exceeds supply.
WHERE:   Wally Parks NHRA Museum Presented by the Automobile Club of Southern California, LA County Fairplex Gate 1, 1101 W. McKinley Ave., Pomona 91768.
WHEN:   10 a.m. Friday, May 7. On site/phone interviews available before 9:45 a.m. and as students finish competing.
WHO:   The Southland's top future automotive technician pairs representing:


Apple Valley/Joshua Dollar Aaron Hite, Nathan Edwards
Arvin/George White Miguel A. Garcia, Bradley Hoover
Loara HS Noc ROP/Russ Bacarella Jon Greenhalph, Ben Hicks
Lompoc/Michael Johnson Tom Litner, Eddie Samulski
Morro Bay/Jon Blackketter Alex Munoz, Clint Requa
Ramona/Robert Grace Ryan Smedly, Matt Tallman
Ramona/Mike Saavedra Brendon Mendenhall, Brandon Grassilli
San Clemente/Josh Wish Daniel Lussier, Oliver Poei
San Luis Obispo/Jeff Lehmkuhl Garrett Frice, Ben Sjogren
Sultana/Jay Winters Lawrence Hernandez, Ryan Carrell


Contact Information

    Elaine Beno/Jeff Spring