Industry Canada

Industry Canada

October 26, 2009 16:04 ET

Four Nominees Appointed to the National Research Council Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Oct. 26, 2009) - The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry and Minister responsible for the National Research Council Canada (NRC), today announced the appointments of Mr. Jacques Beauvais, Dr. Cecil H. Rorabeck, Mr. Leo Steven and Mr. Alexandre Jodoin to the Council.

"It is with great pleasure that I welcome these appointees to the National Research Council Canada. Their sound knowledge and experience in diverse fields will have a significant impact on the work of the Council," said Minister Clement. "Their contribution to the NRC will help guide its work in advancing research and development in Canada."

Recognized globally for research and innovation, the NRC is a leader in the development of an innovative, knowledge-based economy for Canada through science and technology.


Mr. Jacques Beauvais

Mr. Beauvais is Vice Provost of Research at the Universite de Sherbrooke. He is also a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Universite de Sherbrooke. In addition, he was President of Quantiscript inc. from 1999 to 2004.

Mr. Beauvais did his post-doctoral work at the University of Glasgow. He obtained a doctorate in physics at the Universite Laval in 1990. He also obtained a master's degree in physics in 1987 and a bachelor's degree in physics in 1985 from the University of Ottawa.

Dr. Cecil H. Rorabeck

Dr. Rorabeck has been a Professor of Surgery with the University of Western Ontario since 1985. Previously, he was Interim CEO and Scientific Director of Robarts Research Institute from 2006 to 2007. From 2001 to 2005, he worked as Chief Surgeon at the London Health Sciences Centre.

In his distinguished career, Dr. Rorabeck has won over 12 awards, including the John Charnley Award in 1985, the Otto Aufranc Award in 1993, the Nicolas Andry Award in 1994 and the Frank Stinchfield Award.

Dr. Rorabeck received his medical degree from the University of Western Ontario and performed his orthopaedic surgical training at the University of Toronto.

Mr. Leo Steven

Mr. Steven's expertise comes from having served as President and CEO for the Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, the William Osler Health Centre (1998 to 2002), the Etobicoke General Hospital (1997 to 1998) and St. Joseph's Health Centre (1987 to 1997). Moreover, he currently serves on several public boards and councils, including the Canadian College of Health Service Executives, the Cardiac Care Network of Ontario and the Toronto Academic Health Science Network.
Mr. Steven obtained his Master of Health Administration from the University of Toronto in 1970. He also completed a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Western Ontario in 1968.

Mr. Alexandre Jodoin

Mr. Jodoin has been an Intermediate Engineer, Materials and Structures, with BMT Fleet Technology Limited since 2007. Prior to this, he worked as a Research Associate with the NRC from 2002 to 2007.

Mr. Jodoin obtained a Master of Applied Science, Aerospace Engineering, from Carleton University in 2002. He also completed a Bachelor of Applied Science, Mechanical Engineering, from the University of Ottawa in 1999.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
    Minister of Industry
    Lynn Meahan - Press Secretary
    Industry Canada
    Media Relations