Energy Council of Canada

Energy Council of Canada

June 29, 2012 10:30 ET

Hydro Quebec CEO Named Energy Person of the Year by Energy Council of Canada

Thierry Vandal among world leaders for sustainable energy

MONTREAL, QC--(Marketwire - June 29, 2012) - The Energy Council of Canada is proud to announce that Hydro Quebec's CEO, Thierry Vandal, is being awarded the 2012 Canadian Energy Person of the Year award.

Established by the Energy Council of Canada and supported by Canadian sectoral energy associations, this award recognizes and pays tribute to leaders in Canada who have made significant impacts at both the national and international levels with respect to energy.

"The Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award recognizes Thierry Vandal as an ambassador of Quebec and Canada's energy sector, demonstrating a clear vision and commitment to fostering the sustainable use and development of energy for the benefit of all." said Greg Schmidt, President of the Energy Council of Canada.

Since joining Hydro-Québec over 15 years ago, Thierry Vandal focused his attention on maintaining and improving the legacy that the company will leave to future generations in Québec and North America. Developing renewable energy, technological innovation and maintaining competitive rates among the lowest in North America for the company's customers are also top priorities.

"Among his many achievements, Thierry brought together all the necessary conditions to resume and accelerate hydropower development in Québec and to optimize its rates of return. He has leveraged Hydro-Quebec's commitment to renewable energy development to make the company a key component of a low-carbon future for both Québec and its neighboring markets. We can thus envision a future where we have a truly lower carbon footprint." added Schmidt.

Mr. Vandal will be honoured at the 2012 Canadian Energy Person of the Year Gala Dinner taking place on October 10th, 2012 in Montreal, Québec.

About The Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award

The Canadian Energy Person of the Year is nominated for this prestigious annual award based on their remarkable accomplishments in the energy and business or government sectors, as well as the community at large. One of their foremost characteristics is their strong sense of social responsibility and belief in giving back to the community by focusing on environmental and social issues, and economic development. Through their forward thinking and innovative spirit, these leaders promote the Canadian energy sector and Canada's role as a major player in the world energy market.

About the Energy Council of Canada

The Energy Council of Canada is the Canadian Member Committee of the World Energy Council. With over 75 members from Canada's energy sector, they are a non-profit organization dedicated to enhancing the effectiveness of our national energy strategy.

Contact Information

  • Information and interviews:
    Susan Smith
    Bluesky Strategy Group
    t: 1-613-241-3512 x221
    c: 1-613-371-0624

    Marie-France MacKinnon
    Bluesky Strategy Group
    t: 1-613-241-3512 x229
    c: 1-613-853-3940