bluegrass music, awards, Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Dailey and Vincent, IBMA, music

August 18, 2010 12:00 ET

IBMA Announces International Bluegrass Music Awards Nominees

Dailey & Vincent, Russell Moore, Sam Bush, Michael Cleveland & The Grascals Lead Nominees

NASHVILLE, TN--(Marketwire - August 18, 2010) - The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) is proud to announce the nominees for the 21st annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, scheduled for Thursday, September 30, 2010, at Nashville, Tennessee's historic Ryman Auditorium.

Reigning two-time Entertainers of the Year Dailey & Vincent top the list of nominees with 10 nods for Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group, Album of the Year and Best Graphic Design (Dailey & Vincent Sing The Statler Brothers), Song of the Year ("Elizabeth"), Recorded Event ("Give This Message to Your Heart" with Larry Stephenson) and Gospel Recorded Event ("Don't You Wanna Go to Heaven"), Male Vocalist (Dailey), Bass Player (Vincent) and Best Liner Notes (Fred Bartenstein, for the album Singing from the Heart).

Longtime favorites Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out are nominated in six categories: Entertainer of the Year, Song of the Year ["Hard Rock Mountain Prison ('Till I Die)"], Album of the Year (IIIrd Tyme Out), Male Vocalist, Gospel Recorded Performance ("The Eastern Gate") and Vocal Group of the Year -- an award the band received seven times from 1994-2000.

Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, Sam Bush and The Grascals racked up five nominations each. The Gibson Brothers were nominated in four categories; and the Josh Williams Band, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder and The Del McCoury Band received three nods each.

This year's inductees to the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame are singer/songwriter, banjo and fiddle stylist John Hartford and the pioneering business manager of Flatt & Scruggs, The Earl Scruggs Revue and Earl Scruggs Family & Friends, Louise Scruggs. IBMA's Distinguished Achievement Award will be presented to Benjamin F. "Tex" Logan, Sherry Boyd, Lynn Morris, Richard Weize, and Pete "Dr. Banjo" Wernick.

A complete list of nominations and tickets for the IBMA Awards are available at 888-438-4262, (615) 256-3222 and Tickets are also on sale at the Ryman Auditorium box office.

The International Bluegrass Music Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), which serves as the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. The IBMA Award Show is the centerpiece of the World of Bluegrass week, including the industry's Business Conference and Bluegrass Fan Fest, which takes place September 27 - October 3 in Nashville.

Contact Information