SOURCE: Atlantic Records

Atlantic Records

April 21, 2010 18:09 ET

"JASON CASTRO" Hits the Top 10; Acclaimed Singer-Songwriter's Self-Titled Debut Enters the Digital Album Chart at #7; First-Ever Headlining Tour Kicks Off With Sold Out Show; Performance on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show" Set for April 22

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - April 21, 2010) -  Atlantic recording artist Jason Castro's self-titled debut album enters the Digital Album chart at #7 after its first week in stores. Additionally, "JASON CASTRO" debuts in the Top 20 on the Billboard 200 coming in at #18. The collection is already earning praise, with favorable reviews in Us Weekly, People and Entertainment Weekly among others.

Earlier this week, Castro kicked off his first-ever headlining tour with a sold out show at The Loft in his hometown of Dallas, TX. The cross-country trek celebrates the release of his self-titled debut LP and continues with dates into mid-May (see itinerary). During his first national club tour earlier this year, The New York Times raved about his live show, declaring his set "magnetic... 1960s pop with bright guitars, slashed through with a contrarian streak... Jack Johnson and Jason Mraz should be nervous." Supporting Jason on his headlining run is younger sibling and fellow singer-songwriter Michael Castro as well as Atlantic labelmates Camera Can't Lie.

"JASON CASTRO" is highlighted by the new single, "That's What I'm Here For," which is currently scoring at Hot AC radio outlets nationwide. On April 22nd, Castro will perform the song on the nationally syndicated Ellen DeGeneres Show (check local listings). He recently performed the track along with a rendition of "Over The Rainbow" on the ABC special The Bachelor: Jason and Molly's Wedding.

Featured on "JASON CASTRO" alongside the new single "That's What I'm Here For" and the buoyant first single, "Let's Just Fall In Love Again" is a stunning version of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" (which Castro performed on American Idol, citing Jeff Buckley's interpretation as a huge inspiration to him as an artist). To fully capture the moods he wanted, Castro collaborated with producer Eric Rosse (Sara Bareilles, Tori Amos) and a host of top-notch songwriters -- including Marc Roberge of O.A.R., Gregg Wattenberg (Five For Fighting), Zac Maloy (David Cook), and Espionage (Train) -- all of whom helped make "JASON CASTRO" an ideal showcase for his considerable gifts as a vocalist, songwriter, and musician.

In addition to its standard release, a deluxe edition of "JASON CASTRO" is also available via all DSPs. The 14-track collection (which Entertainment Weekly enthused is "... well worth springing for") adds a number of previously unreleased tracks as well as B-sides including "Over The Rainbow" and songs previously found on Castro's acclaimed "THE LOVE UNCOMPROMISED EP," which hit the Top 5 on the iTunes album chart upon its January release.

For up-to-the-minute news, information, tour dates, and exclusive merchandise, please visit


ON TOUR 2010
Support from Michael Castro and Camera Can't Lie
on all dates except where noted
22   Phoenix, AZ Chasers
23   San Diego, CA House of Blues
25   Los Angeles, CA The Troubadour
27   Kansas City, MO Bottleneck Blues Bar
28   Chicago, IL Lincoln Hall
30   Detroit, MI Pike Room
1   Cleveland, OH Grog Shop
2   Columbus, OH The Basement
3   Orlando, FL Walt Disney World
4   Atlanta, GA Vinyl
6   Nashville, TN Rocketown
8   Clearwater, FL Capitol Theatre
12   New York, NY Joe's Pub
13   Vienna, VA Jammin Java
14   Dewey Beach, DE Bottle & Cork
15   Boston, MA Café 939
16   Philadelphia , PA The Note
19   New Orleans, LA Parish at House of Blues
23   San Antonio, TX White Rabbit

Contact Information