SOURCE: Atlantic Records

December 05, 2006 16:56 ET

Jason Mraz to Offer "SELECTIONS FOR FRIENDS"; Digital-Only Release Features In-Concert Renditions of New Songs and Classic Rarities; Includes First-Ever Lyrical Use of Words by Poet/Mystic

Kahlil Gibran; Set Goes on Sale at JASONMRAZ.COM on December 12th

NEW YORK, NY -- (MARKET WIRE) -- December 5, 2006 -- Atlantic recording artist Jason Mraz has unveiled details of his upcoming digital-only release, "SELECTIONS FOR FRIENDS." Recorded live in-concert during last July's acclaimed "songs for friends" tour, the 13-track collection will be available exclusively through Mraz's official website -- -- via Musicane (, an online service that provides content creators and producers with the capability to market, virally distribute, and sell digital content directly from their own Web sites, blogs, and online social networks. "SELECTIONS FOR FRIENDS" will be released on Tuesday, December 12th.

The four-city "songs for friends" tour saw Mraz visiting intimate venues across the country to showcase new songs, classic favorites, and rarely played material from his early coffee shop days. "SELECTIONS FOR FRIENDS" gathers the San Diego-based troubadour's choice songs from his solo acoustic shows at Schubas Tavern in Chicago, as well as from his unplugged full band concert at Saratoga, California's Montalvo Winery.

The collection opens with a full-length performance of 2002's self-released "The E MINOR EP IN F," played continuously through as one song with no breaks. Among the many other highlights of "SELECTIONS FOR FRIENDS" is "God Rests In Reason," which features words by Khalil Gibran, marking the first time the legendary mystical poet's writings have been utilized by a modern songwriter.

Also featured are renditions of such little-heard Mraz classics such as "Childlike Wildlife" (from 1999's "A JASON MRAZ DEMONSTRATION"), "Older Lover Undercover" and "Sleeping To Dream" (both from 2002's "SOLD OUT (IN STEREO)"). "SELECTIONS FROM FRIENDS" is rounded out by performances of a number of tracks from Jason's most recent release, 2005's "MR. A-Z."

Released in July 2005, "MR. A-Z" debuted at #5 on the Billboard 200, with career-best first week sales exceeding 80,000. Produced by Steve Lilywhite (U2, Dave Matthews Band), the album -- which followed Mraz's RIAA platinum-certified breakthrough, "WAITING FOR MY ROCKET TO COME" -- featured a pair of hit singles in "Geek In The Pink" and the top 10 multi-format smash, "Wordplay." A gifted, always-compelling live performer, Mraz followed the release of "MR. A-Z" by spending the better part of a year on the road, with SRO shows throughout the U.S., Europe, Australia, and Japan.

(Complete Track Listing)

1.  "Welcome to Schubas: The E Minor EP in F"
2.  "Did You Get My Message? (Audience Rehearsal)"
3.  "Did You Get My Message?"
4.  "Snakes in Schubas"
5.  "Childlike Wildlife"
6.  "Welcome to Saratoga: Older Lover Undercover"
7.  "Sleeping To Dream"
8.  "God Rests In Reason"
9.  "Life Is Wonderful"
10. "Did You Get My Message?"
11. "Please Don't Tell Her"
12. "Song For A Friend"
13. "10,000 Motherf***ers"

Contact Information