Ontario Arts Foundation

May 26, 2009 10:03 ET

K.M. Hunter Artist Awards top the half million mark

Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Books Editor, Lifestyle Editor, Media Editor, News Editor TORONTO, ONTARIO, NEWS RELEASE--(Marketwire - May 26, 2009) - The K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation recognized the six recipients of the 2009 K.M. Hunter Artist Awards at an event last evening at the Gladstone Hotel.

This year's winners of $8,000 each are:

Sylvie Bouchard (Dance)
Nicolas Pereda (Film and Video)
Kyo Iona Maclear (Literature)
Dan Goldman (Music)
Nauni Parkinson (Theatre)
Mary Catherine Newcomb (Visual Arts)

These annual awards are given to Ontario residents who have completed their training, begun to produce a body of work and are starting to make a significant mark in their field. Given at a critical moment in the artists' careers, the awards are a means of encouraging their craft and propelling them to the next level.

Since the awards were created in 1995, 83 artists have received awards totaling over $500,000.

"The K.M. Hunter Artist Award was inspired by an award I received in my early thirties that helped me realize I should take myself seriously as an artist and continue extending and developing my craft," says Martin Hunter.

The OAC Awards Office administers the nomination process for the K.M. Hunter Artist Awards. OAC juries nominate candidates from a selection of English language OAC project-based granting programs. The K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation convenes six juries to select the winners of the awards. The awards are financed by a gift from the K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation to the Ontario Arts Foundation.
/For further information: Janet Stubbs
Executive Director, Ontario Arts Foundation
jstubbs@arts.on.ca/ IN: ENTERTAINMENT, OTHER

Contact Information

  • Janet Stubbs, Executive Director, Ontario Arts Foundation
    Primary Phone: 416-969-7413
    Secondary Phone: 416-969-7411
    E-mail: jstubbs@arts.on.ca