SOURCE: Atlantic Records

October 02, 2007 16:21 ET

Kevin Michael Unveils Self-Titled Debut Album; Cross-Country Trek With Maroon 5 Set to Begin Oct. 15

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - October 2, 2007) - Downtown/Atlantic recording artist Kevin Michael has unveiled his self-titled debut album, which arrives in stores today. "KEVIN MICHAEL" -- which features the breakthrough first single "It Don't Make Any Difference To Me (feat. Wyclef Jean)" -- arrives on the heels of much critical praise.

In its 4-star review of "KEVIN MICHAEL," Blender declared, "Justin Timberlake, meet your new competition." Vibe called him "refreshingly honest," and YRB gave the album 4 stars.

This week, MTV named Michael one of their "Discover & Download" artists, and added the video for "It Don't Make Any Difference To Me" into Big 10 rotation. He was also named one of mtvU's "Freshman 5" new artists of the summer.

Michael will begin a U.S. tour with Maroon 5 and The Hives on October 15 in Boston (see itinerary below). He has recently shared stages with Lily Allen and Musiq Soulchild, and performed last summer at Lollapalooza in Chicago.

In other news, Michael performed last week on the ABC Family series, "Lincoln Heights." Rhapsody selected him as one of their "Ones To Watch" for the month of September. Both YouTube and MySpace have recently featured the companion video for "It Don't Make Any Difference To Me." Earlier this year, iTunes chose another of Kevin Michael's tracks, "We All Want The Same Thing," as their "Single of the Week," while the song was also featured in a national Verizon ad campaign.

"KEVIN MICHAEL" is a stunning statement of purpose from a remarkably talented young musician, a phenomenal collection that extends the long creative tradition of R&B by imagining it anew. Michael's irresistible blend of classic soul, funk, pop, and R&B -- featured on tracks like the soaring "If I Ain't Got You" and the anthemic "We All Want The Same Thing" -- conjures up greats from the past while also bringing something totally new to the game. The album follows Michael's debut release, the iTunes exclusive EP, "YA DIG?"

For more information, please visit or


                    KEVIN MICHAEL
                      Fall 2007
         All dates with Maroon 5 and The Hives

15             Boston, MA              TD Bank North Garden
16             Washington, DC          Verizon Center
18             Columbia, SC            Colonial Center
20             Sunrise, FL             Bank Atlantic Center
21             St. Petersburg, FL      St. Pete Times Forum
23             Orlando, FL             Amway Arena
24             Duluth, GA              Gwinett Civic Center
26             Houston, TX             Toyota Center
27             Ft. Worth, TX           Ft. Worth Convention Center Arena
29             Denver, CO              Fillmore Auditorium
30             Denver, CO              Fillmore Auditorium

Contact Information