SOURCE: League of California Cities

October 06, 2005 19:19 ET

League of California Cities Honors 'Legislators of the Year': Senator Dick Ackerman and Assemblymember Gene Mullin

SAN FRANCISCO, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- October 6, 2005 -- Sen. Dick Ackerman and Assemblymember Gene Mullin are co-recipients of the coveted "Legislator of the Year" award given by the League of California Cities.

The awards were announced today at the League's 2005 Annual Conference in San Francisco, and were given in appreciation of the legislators' support for local government on a variety of issues throughout the legislative session.

"These legislators previously served in local government," said League President Pat Eklund. "They understand that local democracy works best when decisions are made at a level closest to the people. We deeply appreciate their efforts."

Senator Dick Ackerman, of Irvine -- who previously served for 12 years on the Fullerton City Council, including two full terms as mayor -- was recognized for his long-term support for local control and for ensuring that funds owed to local governments by the state were repaid to local governments.

Assemblymember Gene Mullin of South San Francisco is a former planning commissioner and city council member in South San Francisco. He was recognized for his thoughtful leadership as chair of the Assembly Housing and Community Development Committee in dealing with difficult issues affecting redevelopment, measures which would undercut local housing programs and eminent domain.

"Senator Ackerman and Assemblymember Mullin both understand that solutions to major state issues begin with maintaining healthy local governments who can provide solutions that fit their communities," said Eklund. "They know what it takes to make a community work at the local level, and that heavy handed mandates really won't work."

"We are very pleased to be able to give not one, but two awards this year -- and to two legislators so deserving of the recognition," said League Executive Director Chris McKenzie.

The League of California Cities was established by and for city officials in 1898 to provide professional development and networking opportunities for members, and advocate for legislation that protects and upholds the principle of local control. The Legislator of the Year award was instituted more than 20 years ago and is only given in those years when the League determines that a legislator is deserving of the honor.

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Megan Taylor
    (916) 705-6679 (cell)
    Brian Heaton
    (916) 658-8264

    1400 K Street, Suite 400
    Sacramento, California 95814
    Phone: (916) 658-8200
    Fax: (916) 658-8240