McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation

August 30, 2007 12:35 ET

McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation Awards More Than $100,000 in Grants and Scholarships

SALT LAKE CITY--(Collegiate Presswire - August 30, 2007) - The McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation today announced the twelve 2007-2008 winners of grants and scholarships totaling more than $115,000.00. More than 70 students and educators from around the country applied for the four Student Teaching/Mentoring Scholarships in the amount of $6,000 each, three Teacher Developments in the amount of $10,000 each, and five Academic Enrichment Grants also in the amount of $10,000 each.

"The funded proposals for improving the quality of teaching are inspiring," noted Foundation Co-founder and Chair Sarah McCarthey. "Overall, we received a record number of applications this year, many of which were exceptionally well-written, thought-provoking and innovative."

Teacher Development Grant winners:

-- Masterpiece of Learning: The Art Museum as an Interdisciplinary Tool of Academic Excellence - Felicia Waldon, Atlanta, Carver School of the Arts; John Brandhorst, Atlanta, Grady High School; Raymond Veon, Atlanta, M. Agnes Jones Elementary School (Atlanta Public School District)

-- A Dramatic Approach to Reading Comprehension - Roberta Mantione, Boulder, Hallett Elementary School; Susan Austin, Thornton, Farrell B. Howell K-8 School; Dr. Diana Howard, Denver, Ebert Elementary School; Karin Johnson, Denver, Bryant Webster Dual Language ECE-8 School; Kevin Fletcher, Denver, Farrell B. Howell K-8 School; Ray Lazette, Denver, Hallett Elementary School (Denver School District)

-- Integration with Differentiation - Lori Gardner, Jill Christensen, Debra DeKoff, Steve Heise, Laura Rude, Libby Wadman, all Park City, Ecker Hill International Middle School (Park City School District, UT)

Academic Enrichment Grant winners:

-- Empowering Youth Through Service Learning - Britnie Anderson, Murray, UT, Escalante Elementary School, Salt Lake City School District

-- Hands on Academics: The Roots of the Civil War - Belinda Christ, Choctaw, OK, Star Spencer High School, Oklahoma City Public School District

-- Growing Scientists in our Backyard - Maurine Luck, Lapoint, UT, Lapoint Elementary School, Uinta School District

-- Arts Beyond the Classroom - Jack Mitchell, Oklahoma City, OK, Linwood Elementary School, Oklahoma City Public School District

-- On-site/Insight: A Sight-Specific Art Collaboration - Raymond Veon, Atlanta, GA, M. Agnes Jones Elementary School, Atlanta Public School District

Student Teaching Scholarship winners:

-- Chelsea Findlay, West Virginia University in Morgantown

-- Christine Lawless, University of Texas at Austin

-- Cynthia Medina, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces

-- Brenna Rodriguez, University of California, Santa Cruz

Deadlines for the McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation grants and scholarships are May 1 of each year. Information and applications can be found online at


The McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation is dedicated to serving students and teachers in developing interests, strategies and skills needed to enhance society. Founders Sarah McCarthey and Mark Dressman, professors at the University of Illinois Champaign, recognized the struggle educators too often face in bringing exceptional teaching to their students. Ever-tightening budgets and skyrocketing technology and supply costs now make it more difficult than ever for educators in all areas--k-12, after school and advanced study--to introduce new programs and projects to children who need them most. To that end, the McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation awards grants and scholarships to those projects and/or initiatives with significant potential to augment the educational experiences for all children.

Contact Information