Mines Action Canada

Mines Action Canada

November 26, 2007 12:07 ET

Media Advisory: 10 Year Anniversary of Ottawa Mine Ban Treaty Signing

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 26, 2007) - In honour of the 10th anniversary of the day the world came to Ottawa to sign the Ottawa Treaty banning landmines, mine action experts, landmine survivors, key historical figures and civil society activists from Canada and around the world will come back to Ottawa to mark this important milestone.

Friday, November 30th:

- World of Women: A Nobel Peace Laureate Reflects on Canada's Place in the
World (7:00-8:30pm, Ottawa Arts Court Theatre, 2 Daly Ave): Professor Jody
Williams will address Canada's current conduct in international forums.

Saturday, December 1st:

- Walk without Fear (starting at 1pm at the Human Rights Monument at Elgin
and Lisgar): Ottawa residents, landmine survivors and activists from mine-
affected countries, will walk a two-kilometer walk through downtown Ottawa
in solidarity with people around the world who still walk in fear of losing
life or limb to landmines and in celebration of all those who do not thanks
to the Ottawa Treaty banning landmines. To view the route map, click on the
"Ottawa Treaty 10th Anniversary Event" tab on www.minesactoncanada.org.

Monday, December 3rd:

- Press Conference (9:00-10:00am, National Press Theatre, 150 Wellington):
Key leaders in the mine ban movement, past and present, will reflect on the
successes and challenges in realizing the goals of the Ottawa Treaty over
the past ten years; what remains to be done; and what they expect of Canada
in the future. Spokespeople include:

- Mr. Paul Hannon, Executive Director of Mines Action Canada (MAC), the
Canadian campaign against landmines and cluster bombs;

- Professor Jody Williams, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and co-founder of
the Nobel Women's Initiative;

- Hon. Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, President and Vice Chancellor of the
University of Winnipeg and Canada's Foreign Minister from 1995 to 2000;

- Ms. Sylvie Brigot, Executive Director of the International Campaign to
Ban Landmines (ICBL)

- Mr. Tun Channareth, International Campaign to Ban Landmines Ambassador
and a Cambodian landmine survivor who received the 1997 Nobel Peace
prize on behalf of the ICBL alongside Ms. Williams in 1997.

- Opening Panel, Global Town Hall (10:30-12:30pm, Laurier Room, Chateau
Fairmont Laurier, 1 Rideau Street)): Concerned citizens from the Canada and
the international community will discuss how civil society can better
leverage its power to change policies and strengthen norms to effectively
address humanitarian concerns. The event will be moderated by CPAC's Ken
Rockburn. Opening panelists include Hon. Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, Nobel Peace
Prize Laureate, Jody Williams, CCIC's Gerry Barr and Rideau Institute's
Steven Staples.

Interviews can also be arranged with Canadian campaign members, ICBL Ambassadors, landmine survivors, deminers and campaigners from mine affected countries in Africa, South East Asia, the Americas and the Former Soviet Union from December 1st-December 3rd.

Contact Information