Canada Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs

September 21, 2009 15:20 ET

Media Advisory: Government of Canada Announces Funding for Canada Research Chairs

Attention Assignment Editors (Energy, Education, Science)

GUELPH, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Sept. 21, 2009) - On Wednesday, September 23, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology) will announce the new Canada Research Chairs. The researchers named to hold these prestigious academic positions are world leaders in many vital research fields, including energy, health, environment, biotechnology and economics.

DATE: Wednesday, September 23, 2009

TIME: 9:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

PLACE: University of Guelph
McNabb Room, OVC Learning Commons, Ontario Veterinary College
50 Stone Road, Guelph, Ontario

SPEAKERS: The Honourable Gary Goodyear
Minister of State (Science and Technology)

Dr. Steven Liss
Associate Vice-President (Research Services)

Michele Boutin
Executive Director
Canada Research Chairs Program

Dr. Christian Blodau
Canada Research Chair in Environmental Geology and
University of Guelph

Note to editors: The Canada Research Chairs Program is designed to attract the best talent from Canada and around the world, helping Canadian universities achieve research excellence in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Chairholders improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people. For more information, visit

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) is an independent corporation created by the Government of Canada to fund research infrastructure. The CFI's mandate is to strengthen the capacity of Canadian universities, colleges, research hospitals, and not-for-profit research institutions to carry out world-class research and technology development that benefits Canadians. For a complete listing of CFI contributions, visit

Contact Information

  • Canada Research Chairs Program
    Trevor Lynn
    Manager, Communications
    Cell: 613-302-9879
    Canada Foundation for Innovation
    Yves Melanson
    Coordinator, Media Relations
    Cell: 613-447-1723
    Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
    Minister of State (Science and Technology)
    Gary Toft
    Director of Communications
    University of Guelph
    Lori Bona Hunt
    Associate Director, Communications and Public Affairs
    519-824-4120 ext.53338