Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

June 04, 2009 09:31 ET

Media Advisory: Governor General Honours the 2008 Laureate of the Michener Award for Journalism

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 4, 2009) - Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaelle Jean, Governor General of Canada, will present the 2008 Michener Award for meritorious public service in journalism and the 2009 Michener-Deacon Fellowship on Wednesday, June 10, 2009, at 6:00 p.m., at Rideau Hall.

The six finalists for the 2008 Michener Award are:

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation / Societe Radio-Canada and The Canadian Press

Le Courrier de Saint-Hyacinthe

The Globe and Mail

The Hamilton Spectator

The Toronto Star

The Winnipeg Free Press

About the Michener Awards

Launched in 1970 under the auspices of Canada's third Canadian governor general, the late Roland Michener, the award focuses on the degree of public benefit generated by media projects, both large and small, in print and broadcast. The annual award is open to daily and weekly newspapers, news agencies, radio and television stations and networks, periodicals and online journalism. The winners are chosen on the basis of hard-hitting impact, journalistic professionalism, and the resources available for the project.

The winner of the Michener-Deacon Fellowship for 2009 is:

Mr. Ed Struzik, senior writer at the Edmonton Journal

About the Michener-Deacon Fellowship

The fellowship of the Michener Awards Foundation, introduced in 1987, is known today as the Michener-Deacon Fellowship (named after the late Roland Michener and the late Paul Deacon, a senior media executive and Michener Awards Foundation president). The fellowship is to encourage excellence in investigative print and broadcast journalism that serves the public interest through values that benefit the community.

For more information on the Michener and the Deacon Fellowship Awards, please visit Both prizes are administered by the Michener Awards Foundation.

Media wishing to cover this event should arrive at the Princess Anne entrance no later than 5:30 p.m.

Contact Information