UNICEF Canada

UNICEF Canada

November 22, 2008 12:45 ET

Media Advisory: World Congress III Against Sexual Exploitation of Children & Adolescents this Coming Week in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL--(Marketwire - Nov. 22, 2008) -

What: The World Congress III will mobilize high-level government officials, experts, civil society, media, private sector, international organization and adolescents to move forward the global agenda to stop the sexual exploitation of children and adolescents. The previous two Congresses took place in Stockholm (1996) and Yokohama (2001).

Where: RioCentro Exhibition and Convention Centre, located in Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

When: 25-28 November 2008.

Who: Conveners of the Congress are the Government of Brazil, UNICEF, ECPAT, and the NGO Group for the Convention on the Rights of the Child. Among the nearly 3,000 participants, over 100 countries are expected to send high level delegations. Several hundred young people will also have an active role.

Why: More than a decade after Stockholm, many studies - including the recent 'UN Study on Violence Against Children' - indicate that the sexual exploitation of children and adolescents is pervasive. These sources provide evidence of growing criminal activity related to the trafficking of children for sexual purposes, exploitation by tourists and travelers, the proliferation of child abuse imagery and internet-related crimes. The sexual exploitation of children and adolescents is fueled by national and international demand, which threatens children and adolescents of all ages, in every corner of the world.

Previous World Congresses: The First World Congress Against Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children took place in Stockholm, Sweden in 1996, resulting in the 'Stockholm Declaration and Agenda for Action', which was adopted by 122 countries. This committed countries to develop strategies and plans of action with agreed-upon guidelines. In December 2001, the Second World Congress Against Sexual Exploitation of Children was held in Yokohama, Japan, resulting in the 'Yokohama Global Commitment 2001'. The Congress consolidated global partnerships and reinforced the global commitment to protect children from sexual exploitation. A total of 161 countries have now signed the 'Stockholm Declaration and Agenda for Action'.

To register for the Congress, journalists/media must visit the World Congress website and register online on the Press-Room page at: www.iiicongressomundial.com



For further in formation, please contact:
Geoffrey Keele, UNICEF New York, gkeele@unicef.org
Kent Page, UNICEF Brazil, kpage@unicef.org
Maria Jose Ravalli, UNICEF LAC, mjravalli@unicef.org
Marina Oliveira, Government of Brazil: marina@iiicongressomundial.net
Humberto Rezende, Government of Brazil: humberto@iiicongressomundial.net
Tatiara Lima, Government of Brazil: tatiara@iiicongressomundial.net
Caroline Liou, ECPAT, carolinel@ecpat.net
Lisa Myers, NGO Group for the CRC, myers@childrightsnet.org
Lennart Reinius, NGO Group for the CRC,
lennart.reinius@plan-international.org
Carlos Ely, ANDI, carlosely@andi.org.br
UNICEF Canada - Robert B. Lussier, Acting Director of Communications
- 416-482-4444, ext. 8830

Contact Information

  • UNICEF Canada
    Robert B. Lussier
    Acting Director of Communications
    (416) 482-4444, ext. 8830