Mercedes-Benz Canada

Mercedes-Benz Canada

September 24, 2007 18:13 ET

Mercedes-Benz is the Official Car of the 2007 Presidents Cup

MONTREAL, QUEBEC--(Marketwire - Sept. 24, 2007) - Starting today, many Montrealers and out-of-town visitors are very likely to see a large contingent of Mercedes-Benz vehicles, decked out with the Presidents Cup logos, traveling throughout the streets of Montreal and its surrounding areas. Mercedes-Benz is proud to be the official car sponsor of the much anticipated Presidents Cup taking place at the Royal Montreal Golf Course in Ile Bizard, a lovely residential community on the West Island of Montreal.

A large fleet of various Mercedes-Benz vehicles will be used to shuttle players, VIPs and dignitaries throughout the week.

President and CEO, Marcus Breitschwerdt said, "Canada is thrilled to host the Presidents Cup this year and Mercedes-Benz Canada is equally excited to be a part of this prestigious event as a preferred supplier and the official car. While Mercedes-Benz Canada has been involved in numerous golf initiatives over the last decades, it is the first time we sponsor such a highly visible event. We respect what the Presidents Cup stands for and are extremely proud to be associated with this world acclaimed competition."

Hosted for the first time in Canada, the 2007 Presidents Cup is the seventh edition of the event. The Presidents Cup was originally conceived by a board of PGA Tour officials who wanted to create a unique team competition that would get more international players involved. This week, the best players in the world will represent their countries as the United States Team and the International Team compete to claim the coveted Presidents Cup.

The President's Cup is played every second year alternating with the Ryder Cup which is also held every other year. The first Presidents Cup was played in 1994 at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club. The United States team defeated the International team with a score of 20-12. The subsequent five Presidents Cup saw three US wins, one International win and a tie in 2003.

Members of the 2007 U.S. Team were selected based on official earnings from the start of the 2006 season through the 2007 PGA Championship. International Team players were chosen on the basis of their Official World Golf Ranking. The eligibility rankings are used to select 10 members for both teams. Each Captain also can select two players of his choices to complete the 12-man team.

The Presidents Cup competition consists of 34 matches -- 11 foursomes and 11 four-ball matches. There are 12 singles matches involving all players on the final Sunday. All matches are worth one point each, for a total of 34 points.

There is no purse for the players. Net revenues are divided into equal shares which players and Captains donate to charities or golf-related projects of their choice. The first six Presidents Cups generated over $13 million for charities worldwide.

Presidents Cup Teams

International Team U.S. Team
Gary Player, Captain Jack Nicklaus, Captain
Ian Baker-Finch, Captains Assistant Jeff Sluman, Captain's Assistant
Stuart Appleby (Australia) Woody Austin
Angel Cabrera (Argentina) Stewart Cink
K.J. Choi (South Korea) Jim Furyk
Ernie Els (South Africa) Lucas Glover, Captain's Selection
Retief Goosen (South Africa) Charles Howell III
Trevor Immelman (South Africa) Zach Johnson
Geoff Ogilvy (Australia) Hunter Mahan, Captain's Selection
Nick Ohern (Australia), Phil Mickelson
Captain's Selection
Rory Sabbatini (South Africa) Steve Stricker
Adam Scott (Australia) David Toms
Vjay Singh (Fiji) Scott Verplank
Mike Weir (Canada), Tiger Woods
Captain's Selection

Contact Information