Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada

June 23, 2010 12:00 ET

Minister Paradis Announces Appointment of Members to the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 23, 2010) - The Honourable Christian Paradis, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the appointment of the Honourable Rodney J. MacDonald and Brian Lewis to the Canada–Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board (CNSOPB).

"The CNSOPB represents the interests of Nova Scotians and all Canadians in the regulation of the province's offshore energy," said Minister Paradis. "These highly skilled individuals bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the Board."

Rodney MacDonald brings leadership experience, having served as the former Premier of Nova Scotia and in other senior positions at the provincial level. Brian Lewis has over two decades of experience in the offshore oil and gas industry and significant technical expertise in hydraulics and drilling.

The CNSOPB is the independent joint agency of the Governments of Canada and Nova Scotia responsible for the regulation of petroleum activities in the Nova Scotia offshore area. The Board's responsibilities include health and safety of offshore workers, protection of the environment, and management and conservation of offshore petroleum resources. The CNSOPB reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources.


Minister of Natural Resources Christian Paradis announced today the appointment of two members to the Canada–Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board: Rodney J. MacDonald and Brian Lewis. Minister Paradis said these highly skilled individuals bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the Board.

NRCan's news releases and backgrounders are available at


Contact Information

  • Media may contact:
    Richard Walker
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister
    Natural Resources Canada, Ottawa
    Media Relations
    Natural Resources Canada
    The general public may contact:
    Mon.-Fri., 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. EDT
    TTY: 613-996-4397
    (teletype for the hearing-impaired)