Veterans Affairs Canada

Veterans Affairs Canada

July 21, 2009 13:52 ET

Minister of Veterans Affairs Honours Exceptional Canadians in Alberta, Saskatchewan and the Yukon

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - July 21, 2009) - Eight citizens from Alberta, one from Saskatchewan and two from the Yukon were honoured today for their commitment and dedication to Veterans. The Honourable Greg Thompson, Minister of Veterans Affairs, presented them with the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation during a ceremony in Calgary.

"Every year, the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation pays tribute to an exceptional group of diverse and highly committed individuals who have dedicated themselves to serving our Veterans," said Minister Thompson. "They do so with quiet dignity, without asking for anything in return-much like Canada's Veterans."

Minister Thompson presented the Commendation to the following individuals:

Ronald Bell, Edmonton, Alberta

Michael Dawe, Red Deer, Alberta

Robert Gray, Calgary, Alberta

David Laxton, Whitehorse, Yukon

Alex Maurice, Beauval, Saskatchewan

John Melbourne, Calgary, Alberta

Robert Moors, Lethbridge, Alberta

Harvey Shevalier, Sundre, Alberta

Gordon Thomson, Calgary, Alberta

Wayne Wannamaker, Whitehorse, Yukon

Richard Wright, Calgary, Alberta

The Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation consists of a bar, which can be worn below official decorations on a Veteran's blazer, a lapel pin for civilian wear and a certificate.

The Commendation is presented to individuals who have contributed to the care and well-being of Veterans and to the remembrance of their contributions, sacrifices and achievements. It is intended primarily for Veterans, but in some circumstances may also be awarded to non-Veterans. Nominations may be submitted by the public at any time and are reviewed annually by an advisory committee.

More information on the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation, including citations for the eleven recipients, can be found on the Veterans Affairs Canada Web site at

Contact Information

  • Veterans Affairs Canada
    Janice Summerby
    Media Relations Advisor
    Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    Richard Roik
    Director of Communications