Veterans Affairs Canada

Veterans Affairs Canada

June 19, 2009 13:00 ET

Minister of Veterans Affairs Honours Exceptional Canadians

MOOSE JAW, SASKATCHEWAN--(Marketwire - June 19, 2009) - Eleven citizens from Saskatchewan and Manitoba were honoured today for their commitment and dedication to Veterans. Suzanne Tining, Deputy Minister, Veterans Affairs Canada, presented them with the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation during a ceremony in Moose Jaw.

"Every year, the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation pays tribute to an exceptional group of diverse and highly committed individuals who have dedicated themselves to service and leadership for our Veterans," said Minister Thompson. "They do so with quiet dignity, without asking for anything in return-much like Canada's Veterans."

On behalf of the Minister, the Deputy Minister presented the Commendation to the following individuals:

Harold Hague, Regina, SK
Keith Inches, Regina, SK
Curtis Kleisinger, Regina, SK
Hugh MacKenzie, Winnipeg, MB
William Needham, Wynyard, SK
Robert Nisbet, Winnipeg, MB
Sierra Noble, Winnipeg, MB
George Peterson, Winnipeg, MB
Marie Schmidt, Saskatoon, SK
Brian Wolfe, Saskatoon, SK
Douglas Woodman, Winnipeg, MB

The Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation consists of a bar, which can be worn below official decorations on a Veteran's blazer, a lapel pin for civilian wear and a certificate.

It is presented to individuals who have contributed to the care and well-being of Veterans and to the remembrance of their contributions, sacrifices and achievements. It is intended primarily for Veterans, but in some circumstances may also be awarded to non-Veterans. Nominations may be submitted by the public at any time and are reviewed annually by an advisory committee.

More information on the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation, including citations for the eleven recipients, can be found on the Veterans Affairs Canada Web site at

Contact Information

  • Veterans Affairs Canada
    Janice Summerby
    Media Relations Advisor
    Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    Richard Roik
    Director of Communications