Monsanto Canada Inc.

Monsanto Canada Inc.

October 11, 2007 10:00 ET

Monsanto Canada Awards $90,000 to Students Pursuing Post-Secondary Education in Agriculture and Forestry

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - Oct. 11, 2007) - Sixty young students from rural towns across Canada were provided with entrance scholarships valued at $1,500 each when Monsanto Canada finalized the list of winners in its 2007 Opportunity Scholarship Program last week.

The winners - chosen from over 120 applications - were selected by an independent panel of judges based on their academic performance, leadership capabilities and an involvement in giving back to charities or other service groups in their local communities. All applicants were also required to submit an application essay that answered the question, "In what area of agriculture or forestry would you like to work and why?"

The 2007 Opportunity Scholarship winners are all high school graduates from a farm family who are now enrolled in a first-year agriculture or forestry-related degree or diploma program at a recognized Canadian educational institution.

"Monsanto Canada is a strong supporter of science and agricultural education programs that encourage today's youth to pursue academic studies leading to careers in agriculture or forestry," said Sean Gardner, vice-president and general manager of Monsanto Canada. "It is critically important to our business to have bright and motivated students entering our industry and this is just one small contribution we can make to help some of these students achieve their future goals."

This year's scholarship judging panel included: Bob Adamson, director of the Agriculture Biotechnology Enrichment (ABE) program and science director within the Pembina Trails School Division; Johanne Ross, executive director, Agriculture in the Classroom - Manitoba; and Ellen Pruden, Education and Promotions Coordinator with the Manitoba Canola Growers Association.

Monsanto Canada has been awarding entrance scholarships since 1991 as a means to support rural youth and encourage agriculture/science education. Since the program's inception, more than $850,000 has been awarded to hundreds of deserving students. Details on the launch of the 2008 Monsanto Canada Opportunity Scholarship Program will be released in February 2008 and will also be available online at

Based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Monsanto Canada is a leading provider of technology-based solutions and agricultural products that improve productivity.

Monsanto Canada 2007
Opportunity Scholarship Winners

------- ------------
Richard Berger Nanton Darren Bacon Dodsland
Skylar Bieleny Killam Ian Crosbie Caron
Kale Miller Milk River Brittany Faye Foam Lake
Heather Noble Manning Marcy Grywacheski Norquay
Alan Polasek Sexsmith Kimberly Hardy Grenfell
Matthew Stamp Enchant Lyndsay Hauber Cudworth
Sydney Vos Fairview Paul Kernaleguen St. Brieux
Stephanie Lynch Jansen
Lisa Malo Wolseley
Carla Schmitt Arborfield
Lori Schramm Goodeve
Jenny Soucy Arborfield
MANITOBA Mason Stewart Carrot River
-------- Bryce Wendland Waldheim

Brett Buick Roblin
Carson Callum Miami BRITISH COLUMBIA
Kelvin Friesen Morden ----------------
Larissa Hamilton Glenboro
Kathy Jo Lepp Brandon Janine Rubin Rose Prairie
Kara Nadeau Fannystelle Jenna Schmid 150 Mile House
Amelia Peters Oak River Brittney Schurmann Abbotsford
Carmen Regier Ile des Chenes
Joe Rempel Rosenort

------- ------

Justin Brennan Corbyville Sonia Laganiere Champlain
Kevin Buchner Brownsville Jonathan Messerli St-Andre-d'Argenteuil
Jillian Craig Fenelon Falls Jerome Quirion St-Denis-de-Brompton
Jessica Gal Innerkip
Joseph Gordon Elgin
Ryan Greidanus Listowel
Kelly Hart Woodstock ATLANTIC CANADA
Emily Hendrikx Parkhill ---------------
Lynette Kerslake Staffa
Mitchell Kieffer Teeswater Candace Black Oakville
Jordan Klyn Norwich Cindy Ficza Cornwall
William Lang Williamstown Nathan Murray Albany
Andrew Lockie Sutton West
Thomas McLennan Arnprior
Rebecca Richards Caledonia
Patricia Slaght Wilsonville
Bethany Storey Napanee
Dennis Van Der Molen Jarvis
Michael Vanhie London
Daniel Verbeek Ridgetown
Bridget Visser Kettleby

Contact Information