SOURCE: National Association of Realtors

National Association of Realtors

November 16, 2009 16:06 ET

NAR Installs 2010 Officers

SAN DIEGO, CA--(Marketwire - November 16, 2009) - Vicki Cox Golder, a Realtor® from Tucson, Ariz., was installed today as 2010 president of the National Association of Realtors® at the association's Board of Directors meeting during the REALTORS® Conference & Expo here. Approximately 20,000 Realtors® and guests from the U.S. and abroad attended the annual meeting this year.

In 2009, Cox Golder was NAR president-elect, and she was NAR first vice president in 2008. In 2005, she was NAR's Region XI vice president, representing Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. A Realtor® for 35 years, Cox Golder owns Vicki L. Cox & Associates in Tucson, specializing in commercial, farm and land brokerage, as well as building and development.

Cox Golder was president of the Arizona Association of Realtors® in 1994, and served as president of the Tucson Association of Realtors® in 1991. She was named "Realtor® of the Year" by her local peers in 1989.

Realtor® Ron Phipps from Warwick, R.I., is 2010 president-elect. A Realtor® for more than 30 years, Phipps is broker-president of Phipps Realty in Warwick, specializing in residential brokerage. In 2003, he was NAR's Region I vice president; the region comprises Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Phipps was president of the Rhode Island Association of Realtors® in 2000. He was also president of the statewide Multi-Listing Service (MLS) in 1993. He was named Rhode Island's "Realtor® of the Year" in 1995.

Maurice "Moe" Veissi, a Realtor® from Miami, is the 2010 first vice president. A Realtor® for 40 years, Veissi is broker-owner of Veissi & Associates Inc., in Miami, and specializes in land acquisition. Veissi served as the 2008 Political Fundraising Chair for the REALTORS® Political Action Committee. He also served on the Strategic Investment Reserve Advisory Board for NAR as well as being a regional vice president for Region V in 2005. The Florida Association of Realtors® elected Veissi president in 2002. Over the years, he has had the opportunity to chair most of FAR's committees. The state association named Veissi "Realtor® of the Year" in 2003.

Brooke Hunt, a Realtor® from Flower Mound, Texas, is the 2010 Vice President and Liaison to Committees. A Realtor® for more than 23 years, Hunt works with Keller Williams Realty, a full-service real estate firm. The Texas Association of Realtors® elected Hunt as chairman in 2009. Hunt has held every key leadership role at the MetroTex Association of Realtors®, including serving as director from 1995-2002 and president of the board in 1999. The Northeast Tarrant County Board of Realtors® named her "Realtor® of the Year" in 1998.

Vince Malta, a Realtor® in San Francisco, is the 2010 Vice President and Liaison to Government Affairs. Malta is a third-generation Realtor® and the CEO and founder of Malta & Co. Inc. He is a graduate of the University of San Francisco and the University of San Francisco School of Law. Malta has been in the real estate business for over 25 years and has served the industry in many roles. Malta sat on the Board of Directors of the San Francisco Association of Realtors® from 1987-1994. The board voted him "Realtor® of the Year" in 1996.

NAR's 2010 regional vice presidents are:

Barbara Harlib Schmerzler, Westport, Conn., Region I (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont); Gregory S. Herb, Gilbertsville, Pa., Region II (New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania); Paula J. Miller, Shepherdstown, W.Va., Region III (Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia); Jewell A. McKinney, Kingsport, Tenn., Region IV (Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee); Barbara B. Kennon, Columbus, Ga., Region V (Alabama, Florida, Georgia and Mississippi);

Darlene Breen, Dayton, Ohio, Region VI (Michigan and Ohio); Jeffrey C. Kitchen, Beaver Dam, Wis., Region VII (Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin); Andrew Mahowald, Watertown, S.D., Region VIII (Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota); Larry W. Keating, St. Louis, Mo., Region IX (Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma);

Lance S. Lacy, San Angelo, Texas, Region X (Louisiana and Texas); Jaren L. Davis, Salt Lake City, Utah, Region XI (Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming); Timothy Lund, Hamilton, Mont., Region XII (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington); and Ann L. Pettijohn, Orange, Calif., Region XIII (California, Guam and Hawaii).

The National Association of Realtors®, "The Voice for Real Estate," is America's largest trade association, representing 1.2 million members involved in all aspects of the residential and commercial real estate industries.

Information about NAR is available at News releases are posted in the Web site's "News Media" section in the NAR Media Center.

REALTOR® is a registered collective membership mark which may be used only by real estate professionals who are members of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® and subscribe to its strict Code of Ethics. Not all real estate agents are REALTORS®. All REALTORS® are members of NAR.

Contact Information

  • For further information contact:
    Michelle Wardlaw
    Email Contact