August 19, 2010 16:00 ET

NCSBN Elects New Members to Its Board of Directors During 2010 Delegate Assembly

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - August 19, 2010) -  The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN®)( elected new members to its Board of Directors during its 2010 Delegate Assembly. Those elected include:

Myra A. Broadway
, JD, MS, RN, executive director, Maine State Board of Nursing, was previously vice president from 2008-2010 and Area IV director from 2003-2007. During her tenure, Broadway was the board liaison to the Disciplinary Resources, Finance, Examination and Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence Committees and the Member Board Leadership Development Task Force. She also served as a director-at-large from 2000-2002 when she was board liaison to Commitment to Excellence and Model Rules Subcommittee. Broadway holds a J.D. from Franklin Pierce Law Center, an M.S.B.A. from Boston University, Metropolitan College, an M.S. from the University of Colorado and a B.S. from Hunter College in New York. Broadway served in the United States Air Force Nurse Corps on both active duty and in the Reserves, retiring as a colonel in 1998.

Vice President
Shirley Brekken
, MS, RN, executive director, Minnesota Board of Nursing, previously served as Area II Director from 1990-1992. She has served on 12 NCSBN committees/task forces as either chair or committee member. Brekken is a partner in several Minnesota efforts related to patient safety and advancing a "Just Culture" (Minnesota Alliance for Patient Safety); nursing excellence (Stratis Health Institute); nursing workforce (Minnesota Center for Nursing BOD, Minnesota Colleagues in Caring and Minnesota Health Education and Industry Partnership Steering Committees); technology (Governor's e-Licensing Steering Committee); and nursing leadership (Minnesota Organization of Leaders in Nursing).

Randall Hudspeth, MS, APRN-CNS/NP, FRE, FAANP, board member, Idaho Board of Nursing, was reelected treasurer. He previously served as a director-at-large. Hudspeth is an inducted Fellow of the NCSBN Institute of Regulatory Excellence, and has served two terms as board chairman and two terms as vice chairman of the Idaho Board of Nursing during his seven-year tenure as the advanced practice registered nurse representative.

Julio Santiago,
MSN, RN, CCRN, has served as director-at-large since 2009 and was the board liaison to the Nursys® Committee. He is the chairperson of the Illinois Board of Nursing and the member representing clinical practice since March 2005. Since 1990, Santiago has had extensive experience in nursing, including critical care, behavioral health and in administrative positions.

Katherine Thomas, MS, RN, executive director, Texas Board of Nursing, was reelected as director-at-large, having served her first term from 2008-2010. She previously served as the NCSBN representative to the APRN Joint Dialogue Group. She was also on several NCSBN Advanced Nursing Practice committees, chairing the APRN Advisory Committee from 1995-2007.

NCSBN delegates also elected members of the Leadership Succession Committee (LSC):

Area II Member
Lisa Emrich, MSN, RN, manager, Practice, Education and Administration, Ohio Board of Nursing

Area III Member
Brenda McDougal, associate executive director -- Operations, North Carolina Board of Nursing

Area IV Member
Sue Petula, PhD, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, nursing education advisor, Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing

Additionally, the NCSBN Board of Directors appointed Louise Bailey, MEd, RN, interim executive director, California Board of Registered Nursing, to serve as the Area I Member on the LSC.

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit organization whose members include the boards of nursing in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also seven associate members.

The statements and opinions expressed are those of NCSBN and not the individual member state or territorial boards of nursing.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Dawn M. Kappel
    Director, Marketing and Communications
    312.525.3667 direct
    312.279.1034 fax
    Email Contact